Skip to main content

Daemen College Library: About the Library

RIC Hours

Summer Hours

Monday - Friday: 8 AM - 5 PM
Saturday - Sunday: Closed

If you have any questions, contact the front desk at (716) 839-8243.

About the Library

Daemen College Library supports the college curriculum and helps to prepare students for life and leadership in an increasingly complex world by combining traditional library values and materials with the technological advances of global information networks. Librarians help the college community to solve problems creatively and to think critically by assisting individuals to locate, evaluate, obtain, and apply relevant information using a variety of information resources. The Daemen College Library supports an environment where students are expected to be active participants in their own education and helps students respond to academic challenges by teaching the information seeking skills required to thrive in both current academics and in life-long learning.

The Library has a collection of 100,000 hardcopy book, journal and media volumes. The Library has access to over 24,000 full-text electronic journals, over 37,000 electronic books, and houses 600 print serials titles. Each year about 2,500 items are added to the library collection in a variety of formats.

Services

Reference Librarians are employed to help students, faculty, and staff find the information they need and use Library technology. Library staff collectively possess the specialized skills necessary for the Library to function in a diverse, global, and increasingly complex information environment. PLEASE SEEK OUR ASSISTANCE!!

The Library utilizes the latest information technology. The Library Catalog is computerized. The automated Library system allows users to search in over 50 specialized databases for information located in the Library, as well as to search for information located anywhere around the world. Access to the internet is available on public service computers. The computer network is accessible via the internet from the Daemen College homepage. Laptops are available for 2 hour library use only.

Loan privileges are granted to students, faculty, and staff of the College. Borrowing privileges are extended to Daemen College alumni, Daemen College Associates, and to local community members. A "Patron Access Card" must be filled out at the Circulation Desk. The Library databases are open to visitors, see a librarian for access. For the current Daemen community, a current Daemen I.D. card serves as a library card and must be presented at check out. Length of loans are as follows:

Materials Daemen Student
Books 4 weeks
AV 2 days
Journals Library Only
Reference Library Only
LP's 4 weeks
Special Reserve Library Only
Reserve Library Only

Information sufficient for the vast majority of classroom assignments is available in the Library. However, if users need specialized information located elsewhere, interlibrary loan is available to all.

Course reserve readings are located at the Circulation Desk. Coin-operated photocopy machines are available. Most reserve readings are also available on Electronic Reserve. Other equipment available to use includes: videocassette players, a microform reader/printer, and various other audiovisual equipment.

Library instruction classes, both beginner and advanced are offered for individuals and classes. Contact the reference librarians if you are interested.

Code of Conduct

The following behavior is inappropriate and unacceptable in the Daemen College Library:

  1. Removing or attempting to remove library materials or equipment without proper checkout.
  2. Mutilating, defacing or otherwise damaging library materials by marking, removing pages or portions of pages, removing binding or removing electronic theft devices.
  3. Drinking from uncovered containers.
  4. Smoking
  5. Concealing or "stashing" library materials for exclusive use of an individual or group.
  6. Using computers to view materials that create an intimidating, hostile, or offensive working/learning environment.
  7. Making excessive noise, including conversations or the use of audio devices, in such a manner that others are disturbed. EXCEPTION: Low volume group conversation and audio devices may be used in the Information Commons, Study Bridge, and all Group Study Rooms.
  8. Failure to adhere to copyright laws.
  9. Any incident of verbal or physical abuse or harassment of library patrons or library staff.
  10. Vandalizing or defacing the building, furniture or equipment.
  11. Maliciously accessing, altering, deleting, damaging or destroying any computer equipment, program or data.
  12. Causing a disturbance - "horsing around" - which interferes with the functioning of the library or causes an unsafe environment.
  13. Relocating library equipment without permission of library staff.
  14. Posting, displaying, or distributing any materials, such as notices, advertisements, brochures or newspapers in the library without prior approval of the Head Librarian.
  15. Loitering in staff areas.
  16. Using the telephone or computer in any staff office without authorization.

SANCTIONS:

  1. Being asked to refrain from the prohibited activity.
  2. Being asked to leave the library premises.
  3. Suspension or loss of library privileges.
  4. Referral to the campus disciplinary process.
  5. Criminal prosecution.

Library

  • Reference librarians to help students find the information they are looking for
  • Information literacy and library instruction
  • Laptop computer circulation, interlibrary loan, and reserve
  • Information in all formats: books / periodicals / media / online databases / video wall
  • Individual and group study space

The Commons brings together in one location resources that students need in order to locate, evaluate, and use information so that they may be prepared for life and leadership in an increasingly complex world.

Building Highlights

  • Environmentally Friendly LEEDS certified Green building

  • Café and Outdoor Terrace

  • Video Wall displaying video art, Daemen events, cable news, faculty and student created presentations

  • Laptops loaned at the Circulation Desk for use anywhere in the RIC

  • Wireless Network for printing

  • Silent Study Areas: Second Floor

  • Quiet Talking Areas: First Floor, Second Floor Reading Bridge, Third Floor

  • Group Study Rooms: Talking permitted study for groups from two to ten (Note: Rooms are not soundproof. Please be considerate of those directly outside the study rooms)

  • Reading Bridge with booths for group work

  • The Pad with lots of pillows and cushions

  • Printing, photocopying and scanning in color or black & white

  • Media viewing for groups and individuals (Helpful for videos on reserve)

  • Smart Classrooms (RIC 120 and 101) for Library Instruction; also for quiet study when not in use

  • Seminar Room for quiet study and group presentation practice

  • Professional Educator Resource Center (PERC) for educational materials and children's books

  • Periodicals/Journals/Articles – Available in print on the 2nd floor during service hours and electronically 24/7

  • Books – print and electronic

  • Databases – scholarly research in all academic disciplines available online

  • Enjoy your coffee and snacks everywhere, but leave no trace.  We all share this space together.

The Daemen College Library, housed in the Research & Information Commons, is open for all alumni. Graduates have borrowing privileges from the Daemen College Library. Once your status as an alum is confirmed, a Public Access Card is issued so that materials may be loaned for four weeks with one renewal period. The online databases are only available for currently enrolled students.

Booking Process

When you are interested in booking a room, email Kara McGuire.

Please provide:

  • the date and time
  • a name for the event
  • the number of people you expect

​Room assignments are based upon the appropriate room capacity and technological requirements.  You certainly may request your “favorite,” and we will make every effort to accommodate your preference.  Once your booking has been confirmed you will be able to view here.

After Your Event

The Daemen College Library Staff asks that you return the booked room to the condition in which you found it as a courtesy to the next guest.

Other Rooms

The Group Study Rooms dotted about the RIC, which generally seat 4, will be booked on an ad hoc basis. Otherwise, the Group Study Rooms in the RIC are used on a first-come-first-served basis.

Other Booking Information

Faculty, staff and administrators may book in the RIC.  Students do not need to book, as the entire building, barring offices, is available to them when not otherwise in use.

No rooms in the RIC will be used for regularly scheduled Daemen College classes.  For classrooms including RIC 120, please contact Kim Petry at kpetry@daemen.edu or 839-8214.

Loading

The RIC

NewsEvents & CalendarsOffices & ServicesDirectoryMedia GalleriesCourse CatalogCourse Schedules • Daemen A-Z

Login to LibAppsTermsEmploymentMaps & DirectionsBecome a Fan on FacebookFollow us on TwitterWatch us on YouTubeCheck out our Photostream on Flickr

©2017 Daemen College : 4380 Main Street, Amherst, NY 14226 : 800.462.7652