Skip to main content

RESEARCH GUIDES

History

Useful Online Historical Atlas and Map Collections

Ancient World Mapping Center
Research center at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill offering free ancient history maps and their Antiquity À-la-carte, a web-based GIS interface and interactive digital atlas of the ancient world.

David Rumsey Map Collection
Huge private collection of over 70,000 digitized items focusing on rare 16th through 21st century maps of North and South America. Historic maps of Asia, Africa, Europe, Oceania, and the World are also provided.

Euratlas Historical Maps
Maps of Europe, the Middle East, Ancient Rome, and the World.

Images of Early Maps on the Web

Japanese Maps from the Tokugawa Era
From the University of British Columbia.

Library of Congress Collections with Maps

The National Map: Historical Topographic Map Collection

Old Maps Online
GIS-powered search engine that serves as a gateway to digitized historical maps in libraries around the world. Mobile app also available for Android and iOS devices.

University of Texas Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
From University of Texas at Austin, the site offers a useful collection of various types of maps covering all regions of the world, including historical maps and atlases. The site also offers an extensive list of links to other online historical maps.

Gazetteers

A gazetteer is a geographical index and dictionary used to help you locate places on maps. Gazetteers provide facts about a place, such as size, population, geographic coordinates, etc. and are especially helpful for historic cities or archeological sites that might not appear on current maps.

Selected Gazetteers

Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names Online

Selected Historical Atlases