Publisher’s Description: Provides the most accurate FDA-regulated information on more than 2,400 prescription drugs. PDR contains full label information on the most commonly prescribed drugs, hundreds of full-size and color photographs, warning and drug interactions.
Publisher’s Description: Stedmen’s Medical Dictionary is the most reliable, must-have source available for healthcare professionals.
Contains: Full color inserts with hundreds of images
Official Terminologia Anatomica – Latin and English anatomical terms for the specialties of Gross Anatomy and Neuroanatomy
High Profile Terms – Highlights terms with broad significance to the practice of medicine and to the world
So much more than just a dictionary.the completely revised, bestselling, trusted Mosby's Dictionary is the ONE reference you need to help you make sense of the complex world of health care. It features superior-quality definitions plus 2,400 full-color illustrations - nearly three times more than any other dictionary available! But that's only the beginning. Mosby's Dictionary also includes encyclopedic entries to explain more difficult concepts in depth, a 43-page Color Atlas of Human Anatomy. It's the trusted reference you'll turn to again and again! Over 51,000 comprehensive, authoritative, high-quality definitions - including definitions for major diseases, disorders, drugs, and procedures - offer the most accurate, complete information available in all areas of nursing, medicine, and health-related professions. Approximately 2,400 color photographs and line drawings - nearly three times more than any other health care dictionary - illustrate all subject areas to help you understand concepts. The practical, straightforward alphabetical organization with no subentries and easy-to-use features such as thumb tabs, entry words in color, and large, easy-to-read print make it easy to find and understand information. Expanded definitions for selected entries, particularly major diseases, disorders, and procedures, offer detailed information in one spot to help you understand more difficult concepts. Hundreds of lab test and surgical procedure definitions explain the purpose, procedures, patient care, and expected outcomes. Comprehensive definitions for drugs - with over 200 new to this edition - include indications, contraindications, and adverse effects for safe medication practice. Definitions for more than 50 complementary and alternative medical therapies and over 100 herbs familiarize you with options today's patients may choose. Pronunciations and word roots for key entries help you use terminology correctly in everyday practice. Includes British spellings for selected entries to help you recognize alternate spellings. A Color Atlas of Human Anatomy contains 43 pages of clearly labeled drawings for easy A&P review and reference. Approximately 5,000 new definitions, with special emphasis on definitions related to new drugs, anatomy and physiology, surgical procedures, lab tests, and new technological developments, keep you up to date on the latest developments in health care. Over 30,000 completely revised definitions and 800 updated illustrations ensure you have the most current information in all areas of nursing, medicine, and the health-related professions.
An essential reference, particularly for students who encounter nursing theory and research courses in their educational programs....In her foreword...Afaf Meleis states that it is the answer to a graduate student's prayers. I would certainly agree, and I would add that experienced researchers and theoreticians can use it as a handy reference for day-to-day scholarly activities."--Nursing Education Perspectives Updated terminology and the addition of many new terms with examples and references that reflect current nursing practice make this third edition of the Dictionary of Nursing Theory and Research a valuable accompaniment to the nursing student's or practitioner nurse's bookshelf. With the inclusion of research, theory, statistical, and epidemiologic definitions, as well as cross-reference notes at the end of each entry, this compilation is one of the most comprehensive and up-to-date nursing dictionaries available.
Named an Outstanding Academic Title for 2007 by Choice Winner of an AJN Book of the Year Award The Encyclopedia of Nursing Research, now thoroughly updated in a second edition, presents key terms and concepts in nursing research and with over 30% of the entries new to this edition. Written by the world's leading authorities in nursing research, this comprehensive reference is a "one-stop" resource for everything you need to know about nursing research and its utilization. The 320 articles by 200 expert contributors include topics such as: Nursing services Electronic networks and technology Nursing education Nursing care Specialties in nursing Patients' reactions and adjustments Historical, philosophical, and cultural issues Nursing organizations and publications New entries include: Boykin and Schoenhofer Cancer Survivorship Depression in Cardiac Disease Disparities in Minority Mental Health Endotrachial Suctioning Formal Nursing Languages Henderson's Model HIV Risk Behavior Middle Range Theories Newman's Theory of Health Peplau's Theoretical Model Rogers Science of Unitary Persons Taxonomy Watson's Theory of Human Caring And more Extensive cross references help readers find information easily. Nursing researchers and graduate students in nursing will be the primary audience for this volume. As with the first edition, nurses in all phases of education, from basic to doctoral, from formal university and college-based programs to continuing education offerings, within all health systems, will find this an important introduction to current nursing research topics.
This set provides more than 850 entries covering topics in nursing and allied health written for students and professionals in the field. Alphabetically arranged entries cover topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment. The "Encyclopedia covers all major health professions, including nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, respiratory therapy, medical lab technology, emergency medical technology, dental assistance, pharmacology and nutrition.