This book reviews the more challenging material in a college-level, introductory course in biology. It is intended to supplement standard textbooks in biology, or for students who wish to review such material. '11th Hour: Introduction to Biology' is of particular use to students enrolled in a majors or non-majors introductory biology course, or students taking AP biology. It concentrates on those topics that usually give students the most difficulty, and problems/questions are rated throughout in terms of their level of difficulty. Concentrates on those concepts that usually give students the most difficulty. Provides ample opportunity to test the mastery of this material. Rates questions/problems according to their level of difficulty.
In terms of structural complexity, the natural world presents innumerable examples of stunning beauty and high functionality, usually with the minimum of material and energy expenditure. Materials chemists can harness these amazing structures as ready-made scaffolds on which to grow inorganic phases which replicate the underlying complexity, thereby producing materials with greatly enhanced physical properties. This book comprehensively describes the entire range of natural materials that have been used in this way and the inorganic phases which result from them. The book covers simple molecules such as cellulose and chitin, to large biological constructs such as bacterial proteins, viruses and pollen. Practically every inorganic material has been synthesized using biotemplating methods and the book reflects this, ranging from simple oxides and carbonates such as silica and calcite, to complex semi- and superconducting materials. The book also discusses the formation of these materials from a mechanistic point of view, thereby enabling the reader to better understand the processes involved in biotemplated mineralization.
This 2004 collection of essays deals with the foundation and historical development of population biology and its relationship to population genetics and population ecology on the one hand and to the rapidly growing fields of molecular quantitative genetics, genomics and bioinformatics on the other. Such an interdisciplinary treatment of population biology has never been attempted before. The volume is set in a historical context, but it has an up-to-date coverage of material in various related fields. The areas covered are the foundation of population biology, life history evolution and demography, density and frequency dependent selection, recent advances in quantitative genetics and bioinformatics, evolutionary case history of model organisms focusing on polymorphisms and selection, mating system evolution and evolution in the hybrid zones, and applied population biology including conservation, infectious diseases and human diversity. This is the third of three volumes published in honour of Richard Lewontin.
This concise, accessible book considers from a biological perspective the controversial issues of our day: abortion, euthanasia, engineered evolution, cooperativity, and the future of sustainable life on this planet. Exploring in fascinating detail the processes by which cells come into being and multiply, Loomis clearly and simply explains the latest in complex biological research. He reviews recent insights into molecular and human evolution, the role of DNA sequences in determining traits, and the biological basis for consciousness, all of which, he argues, need to be considered when making life-and-death decisions and wrestling with questions about the limits to intervention.
As analytical chemistry and biology move closer together, biologists are performing increasingly sophisticated analytical techniques on cells. Chemists are also turning to cells as a relevant and important sample to study newly developed methods. Practical Cell Analysis provides techniques, hints, and time-saving tips explaining what may be "common knowledge" to one field but are often hidden or unknown to another. Within this practical guide: The procedures and protocols for cell separation, handling cells on a microscope and for using cells in microfluidic devices are presented. Elements of cell culture are taken and combined with the practical advice necessary to maintain a cell lab and to handle cells properly during an analysis The main chapters deal with the fundamentals and applied aspects of each technique, with one complete chapter focusing on statistical considerations of analyzing cells Many diagram-based protocols for some of the more common cell processes are included Chapter summaries and extensive tables are included so that key information can be looked up easily in the lab setting Much like a good manual or cookbook this book is a useful, practical guide and a handy reference for all students, researchers and practitioners involved in cellular analysis.
This book is unlike ay other work on primates: it systematically reviews the biology of all living primates, including humans. It describes their bio-geographical information and provides crucial data pertaining to their body size, fur coloration external distinguishing features, habitat and basic life strategies. Now in its third edition, Primate Anatomy discusses species that are new to science since the last edition with details concerning anatomical features among primates that were re-discovered. New research in molecular primatology is also included due to recent relevant findings in molecular biology in accordance with new technology. The basics of biological taxonomy are introduced, along with photographs of all major groups. Important new and controversial issues make this edition key for every primatologists, anthropologist, and anatomist. Offers up-to-date reviews of molecular primatology and primate genomics. Concentrates on living primates and their overall biology. Discusses the genetic connection of function where known. Introduces primate genomics for the first time in a textbook. Provides instructive and comprehensive review tables Includes many unique, novel and easily understandable illustrations