With a reputation for quality and authority that is without peer, Black's Law Dictionary is a must-have reference for attorneys, paralegals, judges, and law students. This ninth edition offers more than 45,000 expertly crafted legal definitions containing an additional 2,000 new terms, nearly 3,000 quotations from legal authorities, and selected terms with their date of origin in American and/or British opinions.
This new edition of Garner's Dictionary of Legal Usage discusses and analyzes modern legal vocabulary and style more thoroughly than any other contemporary reference work. Since the first edition, Bryan A. Garner has drawn on his unrivaled experience as a legal editor to refine his position onlegal usage. The new Third Edition remains indispensable: Garner has updated entries throughout, added hundreds of new entries and thousands of new illustrative quotations from judicial opinions and leading lawbooks, revised the selected bibliography, and expanded and updated cross-references toguide readers quickly and easily. A new preface introduces the reader to this edition and discusses content that has been newly incorporated. Influential writers and editors rely on Garner's Dictionary of Legal Usage daily. It is an essential resource for practicing lawyers, legal scholars, and libraries of all sizes and types, functioning as both a style guide and a law dictionary, guiding writers to distinguish between true terms of lawand mere jargon and illustrating recommended forms of expression. Common blunders are discussed in ways that will discourage writers from any further use. The origins of frequently used expressions are described with engaging prose. Collectively, there is no better resource for approaching legalwriting in a logical, clear, and error-free way.
1001 Legal Words You Need to Know explains and illuminates the most difficult and arcane vocabulary any American has to deal with-that of the law. This comprehensive but never condescending guide to the language of the American legal system carefully defines and explains every term with asample sentence, and many entries have supplementary notes. In addition, the book includes a number of quick miniguides to legal troubleshooting that include information on understanding wills, trusts, and inheritance, granting someone the power of attorney, understanding contracts, what to do ifyou're sued, how to choose a lawyer, exploring law school, and enjoying cop and lawyer dramas. The backmatter contains an extensive list of legal aid organizations and a helpful bibliography of books about the law and lawyers for further reading.
"In simple and clear language, this title explains the fundamentals of environmental laW…. This title is unique in that it specifically covers all aspects of environmental law. Highly recommended for all libraries." - Library Journal
Advocating no particular theological or jurisprudential point of view, "Religion and the LaW" examines the constitutional provisions in their historical context, analyzes how the First Amendment defines religion, spotlights the issue of religious exercises and public schools, defines government neutrality in religious matters, and surveys official acknowledgment and endorsement of religious values. Supported by real-life case studies and court rulings, "Religion and the LaW" covers every important aspect of the issue, from abortion and academic freedom to blue laws, the right-to-die controversy, and zoning.