This market-leading text and reference provides the most current, comprehensive presentation of occupational therapy concepts and practice. Following the authors' clear guidance and expertly crafted exercises, readers will learn how to apply a client-centered, occupational and evidence-based approach across the full gamut of practice settings. Completely updated and revised, this Eleventh Edition reflects a greater emphasis on evidence and the growing focus on occupation as the basis for practice. Plus, this edition has greatly expanded its first-person narratives, offering unique insights into the experience of living with disease or disability. A new unit, Occupation and Health in Society, addresses social and health policy, health promotion, community integration, and occupational justice. A companion website offers student and instructor ancillaries.
Access today's best physiatry knowledge and techniques with this full-color new edition of Dr. Braddom's masterfully organized reference! A multitude of international experts document all of the latest advances and techniques, while maintaining the unsurpassed authority, accuracy, and ease of reference-as well as the manageable size and affordable cost-that readers have always appreciated. Every chapter has been meticulously edited by Dr. Braddom and his associates for consistency, succinctness, and readability. The importance of each topic is mirrored by length of its coverage, giving you more information on the issues that concern you most. A consistent chapter organization delivers all the content you need in a logical, practical manner. A new full-color page format makes the book easier than ever to use. Expanded material on sensory rehabilitation #65533; interventional procedures #65533; critical thinking in, and complications resulting from, alternative medicine #65533; acupuncture #65533; imaging #65533; pharmacology #65533; and manual medicine results in the most complete, well-rounded coverage of the field. Every chapter has been thoroughly updated, 50% have been totally rewritten, and 2 new ones have been added-including Integrative Medicine in Rehabilitation and Interventional Pain Management Procedures-to reflect the very latest knowledge in the field. Evidence-based practice guidelines are featured wherever possible. Pediatric considerations are incorporated throughout. Completely redrawn artwork and illustrations make every concept and technique easier to grasp.
A comprehensive resource for focusing on returning injured athletes to their optimal performance! This book discusses exercise principles; muscle fatigue, muscle damage, and overtraining concepts; pathophysiology of overuse injuries; core evaluation in sports-specific testing; physiological basis of exercise specific to sport; and special considerations for the athlete. Secial features such as evidence-based clinical application boxes provide the reader with a solid body of research upon which to base their practice. Aligned to the Guide to Physical Therapy Practice to help learn how to work with athletes' injuries and help them make a physical comeback while following best practices. Incorporation of muscle physiology demonstrates it as the basis for athlete's exercise prescription. Coverage of pathophysiology of overuse injuries illustrates the damage to the musculoskeletal system. Inclusion of treatment and training approaches for athletic rehabilitation shows how to restore the musculoskeletal system back to full flexibility, strength, power, and endurance. Evidence-based clinical application boxes found throughout the book cite key studies and provide real-world application to a clinical setting. Extensive photographs show hands-on demonstrations of important rehabilitation techniques, helping the cinician to accurately apply them during treatment.
Providing a solid foundation in cardiovascular and pulmonary physiology and rehabilitation, Cardiovascular and Pulmonary Physical Therapy: Evidence and Practice, 5th Edition uses the latest scientific literature and research in covering anatomy and physiology, assessment, and interventions. A holistic approach addresses the full spectrum of cardiovascular and pulmonary physical therapy from acute to chronic conditions, starting with care of the stable patient and progressing to management of the more complex, unstable patient. Both primary and secondary cardiovascular and pulmonary disorders are covered. In this edition, updates include new, full-color clinical photographs and the most current coverage of techniques and trends in cardiopulmonary physical therapy. Edited by Donna Frownfelter and Elizabeth Dean, recognized leaders in cardiovascular and pulmonary rehabilitation, this resource is ideal for clinicals and for practice. Evidence-based practice is demonstrated with case studies, and the latest research supports PT decision-making. Real-life clinical cases show the application of concepts to evidence-based practice. Holistic approach supports treating the whole person rather than just the symptoms of a disease or disorder, covering medical, physiological, psychological, psychosocial, therapeutic, practical, and methodological aspects. Coverage includes both primary and secondary cardiovascular and pulmonary conditions. An integrated approach to oxygen transport demonstrates how the cardiovascular and pulmonary systems function together. Emphasis on the terminology and guidelines of APTA's Guide to Physical Therapist Practice keeps the book consistent with the standards for practice in physical therapy. Key terms and review questions in each chapter focus your learning on important concepts. The Evolve companion website includes additional resources such as a case study guide, Archie animations, color images, video clips, WebLinks, and references with links to MEDLINE abstracts. Full-color photos and illustrations enhance your understanding of the book's concepts. Two new Mobilization and Exercise chapters cover physiologic principles along with application to practice. Information on airway clearance techniques is revised and condensed into one comprehensive chapter. New reference style makes it easier to find resources by replacing the old author-date references with numbered superscripts linked to MEDLINE abstracts.
Used as both a core textbook in PT programs and as a clinical reference, Physical Therapy for Children, 3rd Edition, provides the essential information needed by PTs, both student and professional, when working with children. Like the previous bestselling editions, the 3rd edition follows the practice pattern categories of the Guide to Physical Therapist Practice and presents evidence-based coverage of treatment in a convenient and concise format. Users will discover that the new edition features more case studies, revised chapters with additional information, a DVD-ROM with video clips, as well as a three-tiered website with resources for instructors, students, and clinicians. Presents broad coverage of all potential practice situations including information on unique practice settings and medicolegal information Emphasizes an evidence-based approach that incorporates the latest research Follows the practice pattern guidelines of the Guide to Physical Therapist Practice, 2 Edition which sets the standard for physical therapy practice Features an entire section on the basics of pediatrics, which includes essential coverage of normal development, motor control, motor learning, and a framework for decision making Includes extensive information on clinical management featuring practical applications for clinicians DVD-ROM featuring approximately 39 video clips that correspond to case studies and demonstrate conditions found in each chapter More case studies providing real-world examples of the material covered in the text Chapter on The Environment for Intervention demonstrating contextual factors that are important for children's everyday life functions Chapter on Genomics and Genetic Syndromes Affecting Movement that includes information on genetic resources, mutation, genetics and development, chromosomal disorders, gene disorders - providing knowledge in a growing field that has revolutionized the diagnosis and categorization for genetic disorders Social participation aspects of the World Health Organization's disability model explaining how rehabilitation can focus on the entire child rather than the disability Two-color artwork highlighting important points and concepts
This unique, evidence-based textbook examines therapies for sport and exercise. It outlines the research findings that support various physical therapy treatment approaches. With the increasing role that physical therapists now play in prevention and management of sports injuries, this book is a must-have for all practitioners in the field. Covers the theory and application of motor control and motor relearning in the management of sport and exercise related injury. Addresses the mechanisms of pain production in acute and chronic conditions, outlining a variety of strategies for the assessment and management of sport exercise injuries. Provides evidence for the use of exercise in injury prevention and rehabilitation, with a focus on strength training, endurance training, interval training, plyometrics, and stabilization training. Focuses on psychological factors affecting the onset and rehabilitation of injury, in addition to issues related to rehabilitation adherence, the role of the physical therapist in applying basic cognitive-behavioral techniques, dealing with long-term and pain, and general counseling. Covers principles of screening that can be applied to a range of sport and exercise activities, describing assessment of the athlete's general health, pre-activity musculoskeletal function, identification of predisposing factors to musculoskeletal injury, the relevance of obtaining baseline data, and factors that may affect sport and exercise participation. Focuses on standardized evidence-based outcome measures appropriate for use in assessing sport and exercise related injuries in each region of the body. Evaluates the various electrophysical agents commonly used by physical therapists from a scientific perspective, such as therapeutic ultrasound, laser therapy, magnetic therapy, interferential therapy, and hyperbaric oxygen. Outlines the assessment and management of conditions specific to children and adolescents involved in sport and physical activity, highlighting injuries and conditions related to the immature musculoskeletal system. Covers specific issues related to the assessment and management of conditions in older individuals involved in sport and physical activity, including the impact on physical therapy assessment and management of age-related changes to the systems of the body, guidelines for exercise prescription, pharmacological agents, and comorbidity. Examines gender differences in the assessment and management of the active female, including the menstrual cycle and alterations associated with exercise, use of oral contraceptives, eating disorders, and exercise during pregnancy. Outlines the assessment and management of conditions specific to disabled individuals involved in sport and physical activity, examining injuries commonly found in people with neurological disorders, amputees, and wheelchair athletes. A chapter on pharmacological agents in sport and exercise focuses on the use of analgesics, nonsteroidal anti-inflammatories, corticosteriod injections, and medications used for specific conditions (e.g asthma) and the impact of these on injury repair, exercise participation, and physical therapy management - as well as the effect of performance-enhancing drugs on athlete health. Provides an understanding of the various imaging modalities used in diagnosing sport and exercise-related injuries. Offers an overview of common medical emergencies in sport and exercise and the role that physical therapists (as primary contact practitioners) are required to undertake in the first-aid management of these issues.