The dynamic vocabulary of social work, like the profession itself, continues to grow and become more complex. Since the first edition of 'The Social Work Dictionary' in 1987, this essential reference work has been recognised as the definitive lexicon of social work. Now in its fifth edition, the dictionary captures over 9,000 terms, cataloguing and cross-referencing the nomenclature, concepts, organisations, historical figures, and values that define the profession. A special historical section represents a chronology of the significant developments in the United States and the world toward social welfare policies, practices, and the betterment of humanity. Used extensively in schools of social work, social service agency libraries, and in social work offices world-wide, this is a staple in professional libraries. It is unequalled as a study tool for preparing for licensing and certification exams. Every social worker -- from professor to student, from novice to experienced professional -- should own this unparalleled resource for understanding the language of social work and related disciplines.
All of us, as Canadians, are touched throughout our lives by some aspect of social welfare, either as recipients, donors, or taxpayers. But despite the importance of the social network in our country, there has been no single source of information about this critical component of our society. Even professionals in the field of social work or social services have not had a comprehensive volume addressing the myriad features of this critical societal structure. The Encyclopedia of Canadian Social Work fills this need. Over five hundred topics important to Canadian social work are covered, written by a highly diverse group of social workers covering all aspects of the field and all areas of the country. Practitioners, policy makers, academics, social advocates, researchers, students, and administrators present a rich overview of the complexity and diversity of social work and social welfare as it exists in Canada. The principal finding from this project underscores the long-held perception that there is a Canadian model of social work that is unique and stands as a useful model to other countries. The Encyclopedia of Canadian Social Work will be an important source of information, both to Canadians and to interested groups around the world. The Encyclopedia of Canadian Social Work is available in e-book version by subscription or from university and college libraries through the following vendors: Canadian Electronic Library, Ebrary, MyiLibrary, and Netlibrary.
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social Work provides a concise guide to 400 topics relevant to the practice of social work in the 21st Century. It brings together 250 top authors and covers all service user groups.