The Comprehensive Handbook of Social Work and Social Welfare presents a comprehensive and up-to-date review of this constantly evolving field, featuring contributions from renowned national and international experts. Organized by major foundational areas within the social work curriculum, each volume includes cutting-edge information related to all aspects of the profession to guide practice and policy decision-making across the field. Social work researchers, educators, practitioners, and students will gain important insight as well as practical resources related to this dynamic profession.
Fully revised and restructured, this fresh edition offers students and trainee social workers an incisive and authoritative introduction to the subject. As well as entirely new sections on theory and practice, the expert contributions which have shaped the companion s leading reputation have been updated and now include innovative standalone essays on social work theory. Comprehensively reworked new edition comprising six substantive sections covering essential topics for trainee social workers in effect, six books in one Includes an extensive introduction and chapters by leading experts on the focus and purpose of social work Provides a unified textbook for trainees and an invaluable professional reference volume Features a wealth of new material on theory and practice alongside detailed expositions of the social and psychological framework, stages in the human life cycle, and the objectives and core components of social work Each chapter lists five key points to remember, questions for discussion, and recommendations for further reading
The Handbook of Health Social Work provides a comprehensive and evidence-based overview of contemporary social work practice in health care. Written from a wellness perspective, the chapters cover the spectrum of health social work settings with contributions from a wide range of experts. The resulting resource offers both a foundation for social work practice in health care and a guide for strategy, policy, and program development in proactive and actionable terms. Three sections present the material: The Foundations of Social Work in Health Care provides information that is basic and central to the operations of social workers in health care, including conceptual underpinnings; the development of the profession; the wide array of roles performed by social workers in health care settings; ethical issues and decision - making in a variety of arenas; public health and social work; health policy and social work; and the understanding of community factors in health social work. Health Social Work Practice: A Spectrum of Critical Considerations delves into critical practice issues such as theories of health behavior; assessment; effective communication with both clients and other members of health care teams; intersections between health and mental health; the effects of religion and spirituality on health care; family and health; sexuality in health care; and substance abuse. Health Social Work: Selected Areas of Practice presents a range of examples of social work practice, including settings that involve older adults; nephrology; oncology; chronic diseases such as diabetes, heart disease, and HIV/AIDS; genetics; end of life care; pain management and palliative care; and alternative treatments and traditional healers. The first book of its kind to unite the entire body of health social work knowledge, the Handbook of Health Social Work is a must-read for social work educators, administrators, students, and practitioners.
The fields of health care, aging, and social work are often treated as discrete entities, while all social workers deal with issues of health and aging on a daily basis, regardless of practice specialization. The Handbook of Social Work in Health and Aging is the first reference to addressthis reality by compiling the most current thinking on these subjects in a single volume. With the population of older adults increasing as rapidly as new possibilities for their care, professionals need an accessible source of specialized information about how best to serve the elderly and theirfamilies, and they will find this authoritative handbook indispensable.In 100 original chapters, the most experienced and prominent gerontological health care scholars in the United States and across the world provide social workers with up-to-date knowledge of evidence-based practice guidelines for effectively assessing and treating older adults and supporting theirfamilies. The contributing authors paint rich portraits of a variety of populations that social workers serve and arenas in which they practice, followed by detailed recommendations of best practices for an array of physical and mental health conditions. Its unprecedented attention to diversity,global trends, and implications for research, government policy, and education make the publication of such a compendium a major event in the field of gerontological social work.Ambitious and multi-dimensional, this handbook represents the best research on health and aging available to social workers today.
Social work is a profession that is increasingly involved with issues which have a global dimension. This Handbook tackles the global/local aspect of social work in its various forms and interrogates the key concerns that societies are facing through an international lens. The contributors show that, with an appreciation of commonalities and differences, local practices and appropriate forms of international activity can be better developed. Areas covered include: - Analysis of 'International social work' - Globalisation and indigenisation - Social justice and human rights - Poverty and livelihoods - Ecological issues - Migration - Education, theory, research and practice - Social work in different settings - Religion and spirituality - Responses to disasters and conflicts - Life course perspectives - Regional perspectives - Future directions With a truly international range of contributions, the Handbook incorporates perspectives from Asia, Africa, Europe, Australasia, the Middle East and the Americas. It will be an invaluable resource for undergraduates, postgraduates, researchers and academics working in the fields of social work, social welfare, human services, and community development worldwide, as well as service providers and policy makers in the international arena.
This volume brings together a team of leading psychologists to provide a state-of-the-art overview of adolescent development. Leading experts provide cutting-edge reviews of theory and research. Covers issues currently of most importance in terms of basic and/or applied research and policy formulation. Discusses a wide range of topics from basic processes to problem behavior. The ideal basis for a course on adolescent development or for applied professions seeking the best of contemporary knowledge about adolescents. A valuable reference for faculty wishing to keep up-to-date with the latest developments in the field. Now available in full text online via xreferplus, the award-winning reference library on the web from xrefer. For more information, visit www.xreferplus.com
The enlightening collection of new approaches to understanding sexual abuse When sexual abuse occurs, helping those directly affected can be a difficult and convoluted task. The Handbook of Social Work in Child & Adolescent Sexual Abuse is a comprehensive guide that provides the latest information on assessment, management, prevention, and policy. Through insightful and accessible discussions, this collection of essays encompasses the full spectrum of child and adolescent sexual abuse to shed needed light on an affecting issue. This innovative text is the up-to-date source for unique and compassionate ways of supporting and treating survivors. The increased attention given to child sexual abuse in recent years has revealed how little we know about this tragedy. The Handbook of Social Work in Child & Adolescent Sexual Abuse is the practical compendium that covers the already existing information regarding violence against children and delves into practical methods for treating those immediately affected by it. From its historical place in society to contemporary issues of prevention that have only recently come to light, contributors examine essential details in-depth and provide concise, empirical directions for short- and long-term support. Also included is the important and newly-available assessment and treatment information focusing on ethnicity, gender, and comorbid influences as they relate to family member treatment. Among the topics discussed in the Handbook of Social Work in Child & Adolescent Sexual Abuse are: historical views of and responses to sexual abuse risk and protective factors life stage consequences theories of family dysfunction comorbidity and attachment intrafamilial abuse the non-family offender current empirical assessment methods approaches to treatment in children approaches to treatment in adolescents neurological effects of abuse treatment for the non-offending caregiver the role of the internet and other media policy and practice implications the prevalence and consequences of abuse new methods of abuse prevention and child protection the etiology of sexual offending in an attachment framework and much more! The Handbook of Social Work in Child & Adolescent Sexual Abuse is an essential resource for educators, medical practitioners, psychologists, psychiatrists, social workers, counselors, family therapists, and students, researchers, and academics in the field of social work.
Handbook of Interventions that Work with Children and Adolescents, considers evidence-based practice to assess the developmental issues, aetiology, epidemiology, assessment, treatment, and prevention of child and adolescent psychopathology. World-leading contributors provide overviews of empirically validated intervention and prevention initiatives. Arranged in three parts, Part I lays theoretical foundations of "treatments that work" with children and adolescents. Part II presents the evidence base for the treatment of a host of behaviour problems, whilst Part III contains exciting prevention programs that attempt to intervene with several child and adolescent problems before they become disorders. This Handbook presents encouraging evidence that we can intervene successfully at the psychosocial level with children and adolescents who already have major psychiatric disorders and, as importantly, that we can even prevent some of these disorders from occurring in the first place.
This volume is the definitive resource for anyone doing research in social work. It details both quantitative and qualitative methods and data collection, as well as suggesting the methods appropriate to particular types of studies. It also covers issues such as ethics, gender and ethnicity, and offers advice on how to write up and present your research.
Get accurate information on social work concepts--anytime, anyplace The Social Work Student's Research Handbook keeps the information you need on essential classroom concepts and principles right at your fingertips. Practical and easy to use, this comprehensive handbook provides instant access to the nuts and bolts of social work research. The handbook is a perfect resource to help students integrate research into projects, theses, and dissertations, and to help practitioners refresh, review, and organize their professional processes. The Social Work Student's Research Handbook is a complement to the dense and heavy research books available that cover a lot of material--and have the pages to prove it It helps you sort through the narrative, details, and examples to get straight to the heart of each issue when it counts. It provides the tools you need to get through the learning process and is an essential aid for reference use with professional literature; for selecting a problem for social work study; identifying a design type; developing or selecting an instrument; developing a sampling strategy; collecting and analyzing data; and organizing, writing, disseminating, and utilizing results. The Social Work Student's Research Handbook includes concise, usable information on: problem formulation working from questions or hypothesis assumptions design options (exploratory, descriptive, experimental) evaluations (practice, program) data analysis (qualitative, quantitative) and much more. In addition, each chapter ends with a summary of major points to remember and a self-test exercise. The Social Work Student's Research Handbook is an invaluable resource for MSW students as they apply what they've learned in research courses toward original research projects. It's equally handy for social work practitioners and research instructors.
In addition to providing guidance on grammar, the mechanics of writing, and APA style, this manual offers an authoritative reference and citation system. It also covers the treatment of numbers, statistical and mathematical data, tables and figures.