Care Work is a collection of original essays on the complexities of providing care. These essays emphasize how social policies intersect with gender, race, and class to alternately compel women to perform care work and to constrain their ability to do so. Leading international scholars from a range of disciplines provide a groundbreaking analysis of the work of caring in the context of the family, the market, and the welfare state.
This versatile and easy-to-use guide helps you compose well-written, effective letters in minutes for virtually every business and personal situation. What's more, a special 'thesaurus' section included within each topic contains scores of interchangeable key words, phrases, sentences, and paragraphs to let you tailor each model letter to the exact personality and style you wish to convey in any situation -- from casual to formal, distant to friendly, traditional to modern.
Designed for anyone who works with words, this provides guidelines and a selection of 15,000 alternatives to help recognize bias in the English language, replace stereotypical language and improve communication skills. Also included is advice and background perspective on usage or word origin.
Anyone who works with words and people will want to keep this indispensable guide close at hand. In her highly entertaining style, best-selling author Rosalie Maggio offers thousands of alternatives for outdated, stereotypical, and damaging language. This substantially updated and expanded version of Maggio's earlier work, The Dictionary of Bias-Free Usage, also covers numerous words and phrases that were not even part of our language five years ago. This handy reference guide merits a place next to the dictionary and thesaurus of all who are sensitive to the use of fair and accurate language. It will help them make an informed judgment when choosing words to describe people in terms of their age, sex, employment, economic status, religion, lifestyle, ethnic background, or disability.
Publisher's Description: provides a broad overview of the history, scope, values, ethics, and organizational framework of the social work profession. Exploring professional ethics and human rights, evidence-based practice and practice-guided research, as well as emerging trends and issues, this important book presents topics of critical importance to anyone considering a career in social work. Ideal for introductory courses for both undergraduate and graduate students, The Profession of Social Work features coverage closely aligned with social work accreditation standards (EPAS).
This publication is a practice text that examines a range of sensitive issues concerned with managing and maintaining professional boundaries between worker and client. It uses experiences from probation, social work, the NHS, small business and church settings. A number of issues are addressed including: the relationship between personal and professional values; changing professional-client relationships; definitions of being professional; and conflicts arising from different understandings of professionalism.