Invaluable guidance and advice for creating positive change in social policy Edited by a team of renowned experts, Connecting Social Welfare Policy to Fields of Practice features contributions from leaders in this field providing a variety of perspectives on different topics. This visionary guide equips social workers to proactively engage in policy practice to influence specific policies. Designed as a social welfare policy practice text for undergraduate and graduate students in social work programs, this book meets the Council on Social Work Education's (CSWE) Educational Policy and Accreditation Standards (EPAS). Each chapter begins with an overarching question and "what if" scenarios, and ends with a set of suggested key terms, online resources, and discussion questions. Connecting Social Welfare Policy to Fields of Practice addresses specific populations within a wide variety of practice arenas, including: Social welfare policy and politics Aging in the United States Public mental health policy in the United States Disability policy development Health-care policy Urban housing policy Child welfare policy Redefining the welfare state in a global economy Global in context, Connecting Social Welfare Policy to Fields of Practice encourages those in the social work profession to become directly engaged with individuals, families, groups, and communities in the crafting of impartial public policies for marginalized members of society.
A comprehensive overview of domestic and global social welfare policy Written by a team of renowned social policy experts sharing their unique perspectives on global and U.S. social welfare policy issues, Social Work and Social Policy helps social workers consider key issues that face policymakers, elected officials, and agency administrators in order to develop policies that are both fair and just. Designed as a foundational social welfare policy text, this important book meets the Council on Social Work Education's (CSWE) Educational Policy and Accreditation Standards (EPAS). Encouraging readers' critical thinking on various issues, each chapter begins with an overarching question and "what if" scenarios, and ends with a set of suggested key terms, online resources, and discussion questions. Recognizing that policy work requires practitioners to be as fully versed as possible with the issue at hand, Social Work and Social Policy thoroughly explores: Social welfare policy as a form of social justice The evolution of the American welfare state Human security and the welfare of societies Social policy from a global perspective Challenges for social policies in Asia Welfare reform and the need for social empathy The U.S. Patriot Act and its implications for the social work profession Human rights and emerging social media Compelling and broad in scope, Social Work and Social Policy is an indispensable text for students and a valuable resource for practitioners concerned with creating social policy and governmental action guided by justice for all.
A contemporary look at social work practice and the many career possibilities--with detailed coverage of important new and emerging trends As the practice of social work continues to diversify, students need a clear picture of the current state of the field and an up-to-date source of information and guidance on emerging career opportunities. Social Work Fields of Practice provides both. Written by a team of experts in their respective specialties, this book features a comprehensive overview of contemporary social work practice, discussing historical trends and demographics, professional issues, ethics, and diversity for each practice area. Both traditional areas and new fields are considered from a variety of perspectives, including the clinical, ethical, cultural, legal, theoretical, and technological. Addressing the Council on Social Work Education's required competencies for accreditation (EPAS), Social Work Fields of Practice contains pedagogical features such as Key Terms, Review Questions for Critical Thinking, and Online Resources. It is the most timely, all-encompassing resource of its kind, covering: Child welfare Family-centered practice School social work Substance abuse Mental health Social work disability practice Gerontological social work Forensic social work Veterinary social work Military social work International social work Social work practice with immigrant and indigenous populations With expert, in-depth discussions of the most important specialties and practice environments for today's social worker, Social Work Fields of Practice is an invaluable resource for undergraduate and graduate students preparing to enter this noble profession, as well as social workers seeking to expand their professional horizons.
Publisher's Description: focuses on the contemporary theory and practice of social work. Each chapter delves deeply into the key theoretical considerations surrounding a particular practice area, exploring the clinical implications of each. Spanning the full range of both mezzo and macro practice areas, the authors thoroughly look at the assessment of and interventions with group, community, organizational, and institutional settings. An indispensable educational text for students and a valuable working resource for practitioners who work with groups, communities, and organizations of all sizes.
Taking a lifespan approach, this book gathers the top scholars in social work practice to create a resource that presents practice skills and interventions for working with individuals, children, and families. The evidence-informed process in each chapter critically appraises the research and evaluation of each intervention, including limitations in the evidence base for a given intervention. Looking closely at vulnerable populations and other groups in need, this book offers students and practitioners clear guidance for working with children, adolescents, adults, the elderly, and families.
The required research sequence is perhaps the most dreaded element of a BSW or MSW program for students who don't see the applicability of research methods and data analysis to the "real world" of practice. With the move toward greater accountability and evidence-informed practice, though,students must be well equipped to be not only consumers but producers of research. Increase student research comfort and competency with the Social Work Research Skills Workbook, a hands-on practical guide that shows students how to apply what they learn about research methods and analysis to theresearch projects that they develop in their internships, field placements or employment settings.At once a survival guide to the research requirement and a toolbox that practitioners can use in the field, this workbook promises to engage students in the research process and make them responsible, ethical, and informed producers of social work knowledge that produces better outcomes for theiragencies and clients.
Publisher's Description: The premise for this book emerged, in part, from the breadth and depth of social work services. The chapters that Hoffler and Clark have gathered portray what different kinds of social workers do on a daily basis, opening up the world of practice—in all its intensity and gravity—so that this often misunderstood and sometimes undervalued profession can be appreciated on an unprecedentedly intimate level. In addition, chapter authors link the direct practice side of social work with critical policy and advocacy components of the profession, so the book as a whole explores the transition from micro-level service—working directly to improve the lives of individuals—to the macro-level work of altering our social systems and institutions through broad social action and advocacy.
This is an essential text for all those undertaking social work training. Updated to reflect recent changes in legislation and practice in working with children and families, domestic violence, human rights and social services, the second edition contains new chapters to provide comprehensive coverage of the key themes of social work law.
Where did professional social work originate from? How effective are social work interpretations in the lives of vulnerable people? A Textbook of Social Workprovides a comprehensive discussion of social work practice and its evidence-base. It strikes a balance between the need for social workers to understand the social, economic, cultural, psychological and interpersonal factors which give rise to clients' problems, and the need for them to know how best to respond with practical measures. Divided into three parts: the text covers the history and of social work as a movement and profession in the first, and social work methods and approaches in the second. The final part looks at the major specialisms, including, among others, chapters on: Children and families Youth Offenders and substance misusers Social work and mental health Disabled people Older People Providing a comprehensive guide to conceptual and methodological issues in social work and containing plentiful case studies and examples, this book is an essential read for social work students, as well as a valuable resource for practitioners and academics.
Publisher's Description: This title is designed to teach social work students the basics of effective psychosocial practice. Its comprehensive coverage includes counseling and case management. In addition, the book stresses informed critical thinking skills that will carry over into students professional work. Essential Skills of Social Work Practice emphasizes the practical application of intervention research, maintaining up-to-date content based on empirical evidence.