Skip to main content

Using the Daemen Library

Definitions

Abstract: An abstract is a paragraph or two before the main body of an article.  It summarizes what the article will be about.

Article Database: An article database provides access and abstracts to many articles from various journals, magazines and scholarly Web sources.  Some articles that are provided through an article database will be a scanned PDF of the print version of the article, while some articles will be available through an HTML link to the article on the Web.  

Article Indexing Service: An article indexing service provides a list (and sometimes the abstracts) of articles related to a specific field of research.  It will not provide the full text of articles.

Bibliographic Management Software: Bibliographic management software automates the creation of citations in one or more citation styles.

Citation: In research, a citation is a method of crediting an author with quoted or paraphrased work.

Call Number: The call number of a book indicates its location in the library.  In the catalog, the call number will be provided in the location field.  The Daemen Library used the Dewey Decimal Call Numbers, which are numeric, and therefore the books in our library are arranged numerically.  The Dewey Call Number that's assigned to each book is based upon the main subject of the book, so books dealing with similar topics will be arranged close by to each other.

Database Subscription Provider: A database subscription provider is a larger entity that provides subscriptions to more than one databases.  An example of a database subscription provider is Ebsco.

eBook: Books in an online collection like eBook Central are books that exist in the Daemen collection in an online format.  These books are accessed by clicking on an HTML link or a URL and viewing the PDF of the book on-screen.

Keyword: Keywords are words that refer to the topic of an article or a book.  Keywords are usually author or editor supplied and they are not defined by any professional association.  These can be used in a database or the online catalog to search for an article or a book.

Peer-Reviewed: Articles are considered peer-reviewed if they are reviewed by scholars in the field before publication.  An author will submit an article to a journal for publication.  Peer-reviewed journals will then hire an panel of scholars in the field to verify the accuracy and relevancy of an article before approving the article for publication.  Peer-reviewed is sometimes called scholarly or referred.

Primary Source: A primary source (also known as an original source or evidence) can be an original work of fiction, an artifact or a diary or a speech of an actual person.  These items can be analysed but the actual primary source is not an analysis.

Scholarly: Articles are considered scholarly if they are reviewed by scholars in the field before publication.  An author will submit an article to a journal for publication.  Scholarly journals will then hire an panel of scholars in the field to verify the accuracy and relevancy of an article before approving the article for publication.  Scholarly is sometimes called peer-reviewed or refereed.

Secondary Source: A secondary source analyses a primary source.  An example is a criticism of a play or an analysis in a text-book.  Journal articles are usually considered secondary sources.

Subject: A subject is a word that refers to the topic of an article or a book.  Subjects must be supplied by a professional association.  Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) are examples of subjects.  Generally speaking, subjects are controlled, meaning, if an article's subject is "primary education" all other articles about primary education, elementary education or grade school will also fall under the subject of "primary education" and then we will know to use the subject "primary education" instead of "elementary education" or "grade school."  This is meant to create efficiency in searching so that no time is wasted wondering about synonymous terms.  These can be used in a database or in the online catalog to search for an article or a book.  Depending on the database that you use, subjects may sometimes be referred to a descriptor.