Skip to main content

Using the Daemen Library

KnightCite

KnightCite is a online citation generator provided to the Daemen Community. It will create citations in APA, MLA and Chicago Citation Styles based upon entering information into fields.

It is important to double check the results of KnightCite against the rules of a citation styles. 

When Should I Cite?

We should cite whenever we have directly quoted or paraphrased the work of someone else.  You should also cite a source if you are including an image, chart or graph that in not originally yours.  In college and always, citing is greatly encouraged whenever you are writing a research paper.

MLA Citation Style

MLA citation style is the citation style of the Modern Language Association of America. This citation style is covered in depth through the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers.  This book can be found in the non-circulating Ready Reference Collection, located outside of RIC 106 (the Reference Librarians' office).

The Online Writing Lab (OWL) that is made available through Purdue University is also a great resource for MLA citation style formatting and tips.

Electronic Articles in MLA Citation Style

With so many articles available through electronic databases it is important to know how to cite these electronically-accessed articles.  The Modern Language Association (MLA) required that electronic articles are differentiated from print articles on the Works Cited page.

An electronic citation on the Works Cited page will look like this:

Last Name, First Name. "Article Title." Journal Title volume.issue (year): page range. Database Name. Web. Date of access in Day Month Year format.

or, for example:

Hornby, Richard. "An American Lear." Hudson Review 60.2 (2007): 286-292. Literary Reference Center. Web. 18 Apr. 2011.

for:

NOTE 1: Oftentimes, students will confuse the database name with the company that provides the database.  Ebsco is not databases., Ebsco instead provides access to many databases.  Look to the article description page and select what is defined as the database from this location.  Notice in the image above, the bottom red circle surrounds Literary Reference Center, appearing prominently after "Database:"

NOTE 2: If you have retrieved your article on the web, but it was not from a database, you will not need to list a database in the citation on the Works Cited page.  That citation would follow this format:

Last Name, First Name. "Article Title." Journal Title volume.issue (year): page range. Web. Date of access in Day Month Year format.

or:

Hornby, Richard. "An American Lear." Hudson Review 60.2 (2007): 286-292. Web. 18 Apr. 2011.