Professional sports is a huge industry, with much riding on the knees of even a single football player. But the playing fields are also filled with an abundance of 'weekend warriors' who value their own knees no less, and with increased participation in sports and exercise programmes, in general, comes increased risk of injury. Sports medicine is relevant not only to collegiate and professional athletes and the health professionals who treat and advise them, but also to parents and their children, amateur athletes and aging people maintaining a fitness regime. These four volumes present state-of-the-art research and evidence-based applications. The work is broad ranging, covering all aspects of sports medicine with perspectives from the medical, behavioural, and social sciences and physical education. From A-to-Z, this work covers the spectrum with entries included from such areas as body systems, regional injuries (craniofacial, shoulder, knee and so on), special populations (female, pediatric, older athletes), sport-specific injuries, rehabilitation, nutrition, substance use and abuse, sports psychology, the team physician and more.
So much more than just a dictionary.the completely revised, bestselling, trusted Mosby's Dictionary is the ONE reference you need to help you make sense of the complex world of health care. It features superior-quality definitions plus 2,400 full-color illustrations - nearly three times more than any other dictionary available! But that's only the beginning. Mosby's Dictionary also includes encyclopedic entries to explain more difficult concepts in depth, a 43-page Color Atlas of Human Anatomy. It's the trusted reference you'll turn to again and again! Over 51,000 comprehensive, authoritative, high-quality definitions - including definitions for major diseases, disorders, drugs, and procedures - offer the most accurate, complete information available in all areas of nursing, medicine, and health-related professions. Approximately 2,400 color photographs and line drawings - nearly three times more than any other health care dictionary - illustrate all subject areas to help you understand concepts. The practical, straightforward alphabetical organization with no subentries and easy-to-use features such as thumb tabs, entry words in color, and large, easy-to-read print make it easy to find and understand information. Expanded definitions for selected entries, particularly major diseases, disorders, and procedures, offer detailed information in one spot to help you understand more difficult concepts. Hundreds of lab test and surgical procedure definitions explain the purpose, procedures, patient care, and expected outcomes. Comprehensive definitions for drugs - with over 200 new to this edition - include indications, contraindications, and adverse effects for safe medication practice. Definitions for more than 50 complementary and alternative medical therapies and over 100 herbs familiarize you with options today's patients may choose. Pronunciations and word roots for key entries help you use terminology correctly in everyday practice. Includes British spellings for selected entries to help you recognize alternate spellings. A Color Atlas of Human Anatomy contains 43 pages of clearly labeled drawings for easy A&P review and reference. Approximately 5,000 new definitions, with special emphasis on definitions related to new drugs, anatomy and physiology, surgical procedures, lab tests, and new technological developments, keep you up to date on the latest developments in health care. Over 30,000 completely revised definitions and 800 updated illustrations ensure you have the most current information in all areas of nursing, medicine, and the health-related professions.
Taber's 22 brings meanings to life! In hand, online, or on your mobile device--anywhere and everywhere,Taber's 22 is the all-in-one, go-to source in the classroom, clinical, and beyond. Under the editorial direction of Donald Venes, MD, MSJ, a team o fexpert consulting editors and consultants, representing nearly every health care profession, ensures that the content reflects the most current healthcare information. A wealth of resources puts the language of nursing, medicine and the healthcare professions at your fingertips... FREE, 1-year subscription to Taber's Online, powered by Unbound Medicine, and now with annual updates--puts all of the knowledge of Taber's at your fingertips. FREE, Taber's Flash, a flash card app--simplifies studying. Web, mobile, and print platforms--ensure access in any setting. Crossword puzzles, flashcards, and listen-and-learn activities--meet the needs of visual, kinesthetic, and auditory learners. Over 30,000 audio pronunciations--build speaking confidence.
Designed as a companion to ACSM's Guidelines for Exercise Testing and Prescription and as a resource for ACSM certification candidates, this book covers all the major aspects of preventive rehabilitative and fitness programs and the major position stands of the American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM) and other scientific organizations. It provides readers with the necessary background information to address the knowledge, skills and abilities (KSAs) set forth in ACSM's Guidelines. Content comprises both theoretical and practical physiological concepts, with related examples of exercise testing, training and programming. Along with the text, readers have access to a companion website with the fully searchable text.
Physicians' Desk Reference has been the authoritative source on prescription drugs for 70 years. Found in virtually every physician's office, pharmacy, clinic, and library, no medical reference is more current, more recognized, or more respected. Now in its 70th edition, PDR contains full, FDA-approved drug label information, including warnings and precautions, drug interactions, and hundreds of full-color pill images. Every label in PDR includes information on dosages, side effects, and safety information, such as contraindications, pregnancy ratings, and interactions with other drugs, food, and alcohol. Data on clinical trials are also included.
This volume in the Handbook of Sports Medicine and Science series is a practical guide on the prevention of sports injuries. It covers all Olympic sports, plus additional sport activities with international competition, such as rugby. Focusing on reducing the potential for injuries, the book is organised by regions of the body. There are also chapters on the importance of injury prevention and developing an injury prevention program within a team. The authors identify the risk factors for specific injuries in each sport, typical injury mechanisms and risks associated with training.