Social Work 333

An accessible and engaging guide to the study of human behavior in the social environment, covering every major theoretical approach Providing an overview of the major human behavioral theories used to guide social work practice with individuals, families, small groups, and organizations, Human Behavior in the Social Environment examines a different theoretical approach in each chapter--from its historical and conceptual origins to its relevance to social work and clinical applications. Each chapter draws on a theoretical approach to foster understanding of normative individual human development and the etiology of dysfunctional behavior, as well as to provide guidance in the application of social work intervention. Edited by a team of scholars, Human Behavior in the Social Environment addresses the Council on Social Work Education's required competencies for accreditation (EPAS) and explores: Respondent Learning theory Operant Learning theory Cognitive-Behavioral theory Attachment theory Psychosocial theory Person-Centered theory Genetic theory Ecosystems theory Small Group theory Family Systems theory Organizational theory

Using a bio-psychosocial framework, this book provides a wide basis of perspectives on human behaviour on which to build understanding of and responses to people's behaviours, along with an appreciation of some of the circumstances that shape behaviour. It covers key theories of human growth and development in the context of social relationships.

This comprehensive text offers a solid foundation for asssessment of human behavior in micro, mezzo, and macro settings. The editors offer practical and concrete consideration of how human behavior is affected in different systems: individual, biological, family, community, and organizations. These influences are reviewed in terms of implications for practice. The book assembles selected readings that: provide a brief overview of each theoretical model discuss how empiricism can be applied to the model describe what methods, techniques, and interventions the model supports in order to change a client's behavior

Publisher's Description: focuses on the contemporary theory and practice of social work. Each chapter delves deeply into the key theoretical considerations surrounding a particular practice area, exploring the clinical implications of each. Spanning the full range of both mezzo and macro practice areas, the authors thoroughly look at the assessment of and interventions with group, community, organizational, and institutional settings. An indispensable educational text for students and a valuable working resource for practitioners who work with groups, communities, and organizations of all sizes.

Publisher's Description: How can we use our burgeoning knowledge to assure the well-being of all young children, for their own sake as well as for the sake of our nation? Drawing from new findings, this book presents important conclusions about nature-versus-nurture, the impact of being born into a working family, the effect of politics on programs for children, the costs and benefits of intervention, and other issues. The committee issues a series of challenges to decision makers regarding the quality of child care, issues of racial and ethnic diversity, the integration of children's cognitive and emotional development, and more. Authoritative yet accessible, From Neurons to Neighborhoods presents the evidence about "brain wiring" and how kids learn to speak, think, and regulate their behavior. It examines the effect of the climate-family, child care, community-within which the child grows.

Here a biologist explains the evolutionary origins of humanity for a wide multidisciplinary audience.

Beaver introduces the reader to biosocial criminology, including the ways in which genes and the environment combine together to produce different antisocial outcomes. He then proceeds to provide an empirical examination of the genetic underpinnings to criminal behaviors by analyzing data drawn from the National Longitudinal Study of Adolescent Health (Add Health). The results of the analyses provide some evidence indicating that antisocial phenotypes are due to interactions between genetic and environmental factors. Beaver concludes with a call for criminologists and other social scientists to adopt a biosocial perspective to the study of human behavior.

In The Triumph of Sociobiology, John Alcock reviews the controversy that has surrounded evolutionary studies of human social behavior following the 1975 publication of E.O. Wilson's classic, Sociobiology, The New Synthesis. Denounced vehemently as an "ideology" that has justified social evilsand inequalities, sociobiology has survived the assault. Twenty-five years after the field was named by Wilson, the approach he championed has successfully demonstrated its value in the study of animal behavior, including the behavior of our own species. Yet, misconceptions remain--to ourdisadvantage. In this straight-forward, objective approach to the sociobiology debate, noted animal behaviorist John Alcock illuminates how sociobiologists study behavior in all species. He confronts the chief scientific and ideological objections head on, with a compelling analysis of case histories thatinvolve such topics as sexual jealousy, beauty, gender difference, parent-offspring relations, and rape. In so doing, he shows that sociobiology provides the most satisfactory scientific analysis of social behavior available today. Alcock challenges the notion that sociobiology depends on genetic determinism while showing the shortcoming of competing approaches that rely on cultural or environmental determinism. He also presents the practical applications of sociobiology and the progress sociobiological research has madein the search for a more complete understanding of human activities. His reminder that "natural" behavior is not "moral" behavior should quiet opponents fearing misapplication of evolutionary theory to our species. The key misconceptions about this evolutionary field are dissected one by one asthe author shows why sociobiologists have had so much success in explaining the puzzling and fascinating social behavior of nonhuman animals and humans alike.

Now in a completely revised and expanded second edition, this authoritative handbook reviews the breadth of current knowledge on the psychological processes that underlie social behavior. Leading investigators identify core principles that have emerged from the study of biological systems, social cognition, goals and strivings, interpersonal interactions, and group and cultural dynamics. State-of-the-science theories, methods, and findings are explained, and important directions for future research are highlighted. More than an update, this edition is virtually a new book. Many more chapters are included, and significant advances in social cognitive neuroscience, motivational psychology, and other areas are incorporated throughout. A new section addresses implications for applied domains, such as clinical psychology, health, and consumer behavior.

Publisher's Description: Uses the developmental, ecological-systems perspective as an analytic tool to show students how social scientific evidence helps us understand human development and enhances social work practice. Students will learn that by effectively connecting theory to practice, they can develop successful strategies to use as they encounter complex issues currently facing social workers.

Publisher's Description: This book examines how social workers can use theory to shape social work practice by increasing his or her understanding of and potential for enhancing human well-being. Greene covers the relationship between human behavior theory and professional social work practice. She also explores the challenges and limitations of each theory and addresses the following issues: how the theory serves as a framework for social work practice; how the theory lends itself to an understanding of individual, family, group, community, or organizational behavior; what the implications are of the theory for social work interventions or practice strategies; and what role it proposes for the social worker as a change agent.

Contemporary Human Behavior Theory: A Critical Perspective for Social Work, 2/e is the first HSBE text to approach the subject from a comparative theory perspective, providing coverage of the most current and contemporary theories as well as traditional theories. A consistent framework for analysis is provided for all of the theoretical systems that are covered. This text encourages students to develop critical thinking skills in analyzing and comparing theories, and includes contemporary developments in traditional lifespan theory, theories of political economy, and a separate chapter on transpersonal theory (Ch. 12). Each chapter includes coverage of the research that supports a particular theory, an analysis of the validity of that research, and a discussion of updated Contemporary Issues.

The Blackwell Handbook of Early Childhood Development presents a comprehensive summary of research into child development from age two to seven. Comprises 30 contributions from both established scholars and emerging leaders in the field The editors have a distinguished reputation in early childhood development Covers biological development, cognitive development, language development, and social, emotional and regulatory development Considers the applications of psychology to the care and education of young children, treating issues such as poverty, media, and the transition to school A valuable resource for students, scholars and practitioners dealing with young children

A best-selling, topically organized child development text, Berk's Child Development is relied on in classrooms worldwide for its clear, engaging writing style, exceptional cross-cultural and multi-cultural focus, rich examples, and long-standing commitment to presenting the most up-to-date scholarship while also offering students research-based, practical applications that they can relate to their personal and professional lives. Berk takes an integrated approach to presenting development in the physical, cognitive, emotional, and social domains; emphasizes the complex interchanges between heredity and environment; and provides exceptional attention to culture. Laura Berk, renowned professor and researcher, presents the latest theories and findings in the field to students in a manageable and relevant way. Berk's signature storytelling style invites students to actively learn beside the text's "characters," who experience real issues in development, including physical, cognitive, and peer challenges, as well as parenting and educational concerns. Berk also helps students connect their learning to their personal and professional areas of interest. Her voice comes through when speaking directly about issues students will face in their future pursuits as parents, educators, heath care providers, social workers, and researchers. As members of a global and diverse human community, students are called on to intelligently approach the responsibility of understanding and responding to the needs and concerns of children. While carefully considering the complexities of child development, Berk presents classic and emerging theories in an especially clear, engaging writing style, with a multitude of research-based, real-world, and cross-cultural examples. Strengthening the connections among developmental domains and among theory, research, and applications, this edition's extensive revision brings forth the most recent scholarship, representing the changing field of child development.

This important text shows how child development theory applies to professionals' working practice. Considering theories of development throughout the lifespan from the early years through to adolescence, and transitions to adulthood, this resource is essential reading for a range of professionals including social workers, teachers, and health and mental health professionals. The authors build up an integrated picture of the developing world of the child, looking at genetic and biological influences alongside individual psychological, interpersonal, familial, educational and wider community domains. The final part of the book looks specifically at issues for practice, including chapters on communicating with children exercising professional judgement, and planning, interventions and outcomes in children's services.

Understanding personal relationships throughout the life course is one of the most crucial issues in the behavioral and social sciences. This book brings together perspectives from different disciplines on individual development and personal relationships across the life span. The book addresses two pertinent dimensions of personal relationships: 1) structures of relationship networks (e.g. kin vs non-kin, peripheral vs intimate, short-term vs long-term) and 2) processes (i.e. change or stability) and outcomes of personal relationships across the life span. The book stimulates discussion of personal relationships as resources for and outcomes of individual development throughout the life course. Different qualities of personal relationships serve as catalysts for individual development. At the same time, relationship qualities reflect changes of developing individuals. The book does not give exclusive priority to one phase of the human life span. Rather, each chapter addresses social development across the entire life span from childhood to later adulthood.

The definitive work on a groundbreaking study, this essential volume provides a coherent picture of the complexity of development from birth to adulthood. Explicated are both the methodology of the Minnesota study and its far-reaching contributions to understanding how we become who we are. The book marshals a vast body of data on the ways in which individuals' strengths and vulnerabilities are shaped by myriad influences, including early experiences, family and peer relationships throughout childhood and adolescence, variations in child characteristics and abilities, and socioeconomic conditions. Implications for clinical intervention and prevention are also addressed. Rigorously documented and clearly presented, the study's findings elucidate the twists and turns of individual pathways, illustrating as never before the ongoing interplay between developing children and their environments.