Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 9,810 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
AccessEmergency Medicine from McGraw-Hill Medical helps meet the immediate needs of the emergency department (ED) – all in one place. Updated regularly, this comprehensive online emergency medicine resource provides quick diagnosis and treatment answers for a broad spectrum of complaints encountered in the ED, ranging from neurologic and pediatric emergencies, to poisoning and trauma – specifically designed for optimized viewing on any device.
AccessMedicine from McGraw-Hill is an online resource that provides access to more than 75 medical titles, updated content, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools, a comprehensive search platform, and the ability to view from and download content to a mobile device. AccessMedicine provides fast, direct access to the information necessary for completing evaluations, diagnoses, and case management decisions, as well as for pursuing research, medical education, or self-assessment and board review.
AccessPediatrics from McGraw-Hill Medical covers the entire span of pediatric practice, from neonatology through adolescent medicine. Updated regularly and optimized for viewing on any device, this comprehensive online pediatric resource provides instant access to information essential for completing evaluation, diagnosis, and case management decisions, as well as for pursuing research or self-assessment and board review -- all in one place.
AccessSurgery from McGraw-Hill Medical introduces a whole new dimension to surgical education and clinical practice. Updated regularly, this comprehensive online surgery resource enhances medical knowledge and delivers quick answers to surgical inquiries – all in one place.
Coverage of biological science fields including animal behavior, aquatic life and fisheries, chemoreception, biochemistry, ecology, plant science, toxicology, virology, microbiology, immunology genetics, health and safety science, oncogenes, entomology, and endocrinology neuroscience. The resource also includes access to MEDLINE.
A rich collection of nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL and provides additional nursing and allied health research material including health care books, select conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheet and quick lesson disease overviews. The database provides broad content coverage including 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine.
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.
MEDLINE with Full Text provides the authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences found on MEDLINE, plus the database provides full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, nearly 1,450 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE. And of those, 558 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search, Health Source or Biomedical Reference Collection.
PubMed is a free online resource that comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. By using this custom Daemen URL, article citations will include a link to search the Daemen catalog for full text, in addition to links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Note: All users MUST create an UpToDate account in order to access content.
UpToDate is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource that assists clinicians with point-of-care decisions. UpToDate covers 25 medical specialties with over 11,600 topic reviews, each of which covers multiple clinical questions. Additionally, UpToDate includes graphics, patient education, clinical calculators, and a drug database and drug interaction tool (through a partnership with Lexicomp® ).
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
A digital collection comprised of all current and historical periodicals from the American Bar Association, featuring 44 titles previously only available to ABA section members. As an added benefit, program materials from the National Institutes from 2012 to date have also been included.
Consisting of nearly 3 million objects, Global Plants is the largest community-contributed database in which herbaria share their plant type specimens and experts determine and update plant names.The collection also includes partner-contributed reference works and primary sources, and serves an essential resource for research and teaching in botany, ecology, and conservation studies.
19th Century British Pamphlets
19th Century British Pamphlets is a corpus of primary sources for the study of sociopolitical and economic factors impacting 19th-century Britain. Created by Research Libraries UK (RLUK) with funding from the JISC Digitisation Programme, the collection is comprised of more than 26,000 important pamphlets held in research libraries in the United Kingdom.
Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa
The collection consists of more than 190,000 pages of documents and images, including periodicals, nationalist publications, records of colonial government commissions, local newspaper reports, personal papers, correspondence, UN documents, out-of-print and other particularly relevant books, oral histories, and speeches.
World Heritage Sites: Africa
The collection links visual, contextual, and spatial documentation of African heritage sites. It includes more than 57,000 objects, including photographs, 3D models, GIS data, site plans, aerial and satellite photography, images of rock art, excavation reports, manuscripts, traveler’s accounts, historical and antiquarian maps, books, articles, and other scholarly research.
JSTOR’s thematic collections focus on emerging areas of research and contain multiple types of content, including journals and open research reports.
Lives of Literature
Lives of Literature is a collection of academic journals devoted to the deep study of writers and texts associated with core literary movements. This resource supports advanced literary studies and interdisciplinary research on writers and texts critical to curricula in literature.
JSTOR Security Studies gathers academic and open policy research on international and national security problems and foreign policy issues, encompassing perspectives from around the world. This interdisciplinary resource is being built in collaboration with librarians, scholars, and policy researchers, and with guidance from an advisory group of professionals in the community.
JSTOR Sustainability is a collection of academic and open policy research on environmental stresses and their impact on society. This collection was built in collaboration with librarians, scholars, and policy researchers, and looks at sustainability and resilience through a broad lens spanning more than 30 disciplines.