Borrowing Materials
Daemen alumni, Daemen University Associates, and local community members are able to borrow circulating materials from our collections. A Patron Access Card must be filled out at the Circulation Desk.
Databases and Electronic Resources
Alumni and guest patrons who visit Daemen Library may access nearly all of our online databases and other electronic resources on site. Vendor licenses restrict off–campus access of these databases to current faculty, staff, and students.
If you would like to access and use our databases and electronic resources, please speak with a librarian who will log you in using a Library Guest Account.
Quick-Access Databases Links (no Guest Account required)
Use the links below to access select databases when on campus, without needing a Library Guest Account.
- ABI/INFORM CollectionThe most comprehensive ABI/INFORM database, this collection comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
- Academic Search CompleteAcademic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 9,810 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- America: History & Life with Full TextResearch database covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. It includes an hundreds of full-text history journals and books, plus useful features such as the ability to search by time period.
- Biological Science DatabaseCoverage of biological science fields including animal behavior, aquatic life and fisheries, chemoreception, biochemistry, ecology, plant science, toxicology, virology, microbiology, immunology genetics, health and safety science, oncogenes, entomology, and endocrinology neuroscience. The resource also includes access to MEDLINE.
- Business Source PremierA comprehensive business databases that includes not only journal and newspaper articles, but also industry overviews, industry profiles, product reviews, company reports, country reports, and other reports. Both full-text articles and abstracts.
- CINAHL CompleteA rich collection of nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL and provides additional nursing and allied health research material including health care books, select conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheet and quick lesson disease overviews. The database provides broad content coverage including 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine.
- Credo ReferenceA great place to start your research with access to general reference materials. Includes 'Real-time Reference' that provides content on current events and controversial topics. Also includes Debate Topics from ProCon.org.
- Education SourceEducation Source is designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers. The collection provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,850 academic periodicals and includes full text for more than 1,800 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Coverage in Education Source spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
- ERICERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.
- Historical Abstracts with Full TextHistorical Abstracts with Full Text is covers world history (excluding the United States and Canada) from the 15th century to the present. It includes hundreds of history journals and books, plus useful features such as the ability to search by time period. Coverage includes world history, military history, women’s history, history of education, and more.
- JSTORJSTOR includes core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences. The collections also contains titles in business, language & literature, ecology, mathematics, and statistics.
- MEDLINE with Full TextMEDLINE with Full Text provides the authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences found on MEDLINE, plus the database provides full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, nearly 1,450 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE. And of those, 558 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search, Health Source or Biomedical Reference Collection.
- PsycINFOThe PsycINFO, database, American Psychological Associations (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 3 million records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.
- ScienceDirectScienceDirect is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from nearly 2,500 journals and 26,000 books.
- Social Science DatabaseProQuest Social Science Journals is a definitive resource for those who need access to a variety of scientific journals. The database includes over 1000 titles, with the majority available in full text. It covers core disciplines across the social sciences including sociology, social work, anthropology, politics and other areas, featuring journals from over 50 countries, facilitating multidisciplinary research and providing researchers with a variety of perspectives.