Books/Ebooks
This page provides works-cited-list examples for print books and ebooks.
For more examples and information on citing books, visit the MLA Style Center or consult Chapter 5 of the MLA Handbook, 9th Edition.
E-Book
Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. E-book ed., Publisher, Publication Date. Website or databases name, URL (without http://).
Book
Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. Publisher, Publication Date.
Book Published Before 1900
Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. City of Publication, Publisher, Publication Date.
Notes
- If you accessed the E-book in a library database or accessed it through a website (like HathiTrust), include the named of that database or website in your entry. If you simply purchased the E-book, you should not include a website name.
- In an entry for a pre-1900 work, you may give the city of publication in place of the publisher. You should also include the city of publication if the publisher has offices in multiple countries and you are reading an unexpected version of the text such as a British edition in the United States.
Works-Cited Examples
Book
Gleick, James. Chaos: Making a New Science. Penguin, 1987.
Book with No Known Author/Editor
Encyclopedia of Indiana. Somerset, 1993.
Book with Corporate Author (Publisher and Author are Different)
American Allergy Association. Allergies in Children. Random House, 1998.
Book with Corporate Author (Publisher and Author are the Same)
Fair Housing—Fair Lending. Aspen Law & Business, 1985.
Book Prepared by an Editor
Bronte, Charlotte. Jane Eyre. Edited by Margaret Smith, Oxford UP, 1998.
Book Published before 1900
Goethe, Johann Wolfgang von. Conversations of Goethe with Eckermann and Soret. Translated by John Oxenford, new ed., London, 1875.
Chapter or Article in an Edited Book
Ross, Colin. "The Story of Grey Owl." Fiction/Non-Fiction: A Reader and Rhetoric, edited by Garry Engkent and Lucia Engkent, 2nd ed., Thomson Nelson, 2006, pp. 327-333.
Translated Book (with Emphasis on the Original Work/Author)
Foucault, Michel. Madness and Civilization: A History of Insanity in the Age of Reason. Translated by Richard Howard, Vintage-Random House, 1988.
Translated Book (with Emphasis on the Translator)
Howard, Richard, translator. Madness and Civilization: A History of Insanity in the Age of Reason. By Michel Foucault, Vintage-Random House, 1988.
E-Book from a Library Database
Walaud, Paul. Animal Rights: What Everyone Needs to Know. Oxford University Press, 2010. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), ezproxy.daemen.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=cookie,ip,uid&db=nlebk&AN=348353&site=ehost-live&scope=site
E-Book from Website
Henty, George Alfred. The Cat of Bubastes: A Tale of Ancient Egypt. Blackie and Son, 1889. HathiTrust Digital Library, babel.hathitrust.org/cgi/pt?id=mdp.39015073478847.