Social Work 224

Publisher's Description: Learn how to provide concrete opportunities for acceptance and change in group work with multiethnic persons. Ethnicity and Biculturalism focuses on the use of the small group, in varied fields of practice, as a tool for affirming ethnic identity and heritage, simultaneously promoting intercultural acceptance and interdependence among group members. This resourceful book is filled with practice insights and practical games and exercises to aid in the development of a positive and empowering group experience.

Publisher's Description: This text offers a practical and well-defined five-stage model of social work practice with culturally diverse communities. While the book specifically looks at practice with persons of color (African-American, Asian -American, Latino, and First Nations people), it is intended to be relevant for culturally and ethnically sensitive practice with any individual or population.

The groundbreaking new text for culturally competent social work practice In Multicultural Social Work Practice, author Derald Wing Sue, one of the most prominent and respected pioneers in diversity research and practice, explores and synthesizes the important theoretical, political, and philosophical concepts related to cultural competence in the field of social work. This comprehensive yet practical text offers students definitive guidance on culturally sensitive social work practice. This important new work challenges the reader to consider the different worldviews of a highly diversified population, and achieve cultural competence through increased awareness, knowledge, and skills. It provides specific definitions of multiculturalism, cultural competence, and multicultural social work that clearly guide discussion, analysis, and debate. It also highlights the sociopolitical and social justice aspects of effective practice, and closely examines how social work theories, concepts, and practices are often rooted in and reflective of the values of the dominant society. Multicultural Social Work Practice features sections on: * Conceptual dimensions of multicultural social work practice * The political dimensions of social work practice * Racial/cultural identity development--social work implication * The practice dimensions of multicultural social work * Systemic and ecological perspectives of multicultural social work * Profiles in culturally competent care for diverse populations In addition to the aforementioned coverage, this innovative text features unique chapters on barriers to effective practice, cultural styles in intervention strategies, and indigenous healing strategies. It also employs generous clinical and real-life examples to illustrate important concepts. A lively, provocative guidebook that challenges traditional social work practice, and featuring a foreword by Monica McGoldrick, Multicultural Social Work Practice is a benchmark text for students of social work, professional social workers, and others in the helping professions.

"Cross-Cultural Communication" is a collection of essays that examines how practitioners can improve the acceptance of their documentation when communicating to cultures other than their own. The essays begin by examining the cross-cultural issues relating to quality in documentation. From there, the essays look at examples of common documents, analysing them from several perspectives. Specifically, the author uses communication theories (such as Bernstein's Elaborated and Restricted Code theory and Marwell and Schmidt's Compliance-Gaining theory) to show how documents used by readers who are not native speakers of English can be written and organized to increase their effectiveness. The principal assumption about how practitioners create their documents is that, while large organizations can afford to write, translate, and then localize, small- to medium-size organizations produce many documents that are used directly by people in other cultures-often without translating and localizing. The advantage the writer gains from these essays is in understanding the strategies and knowing the kinds of strategies to apply in specific situations. In addition, the essays can serve as a valuable resource for students and teachers alike as they determine ways to understand how cross-cultural communication is different and why it makes a difference. Not only do students need to be aware of the various strategies they may apply when creating documents for cross-cultural settings, they also need to see how research can apply theories from different areas-in the case of these essays, communication and rhetorical theories. Another value of the essays is to show the students the role standards play in cross-cultural communication; standards are written by committees that follow style rules developed by the International Standardization Organization in Geneva. Thus, both students and practitioners can find valuable cross-cultural communication advice in these essays.

Today, social work and human services professionals must be prepared to deliver knowledgeable and unbiased services to lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender persons. For the first time, an unprecedented new resource sheds light on effective practice with LGBT populations. Presented in a thorough and sensitive style, Affirmative Practice delivers an extraordinary study of the history, knowledge, theory, and techniques that provide a framework for affirmative and nonjudgmental practice. Affirmative Practice chronicles the history of LGBT communities and provides an intimate understanding of the LGBT lifestyle from individual, family, and community perspectives. Drawing from extensive research and using clear, crisp writing, the authors examine the cultural, social, political, and legal issues within each community and address special groups along racial, ethnic, and age criteria. This unique and essential text assesses various approaches to therapy and provides tenable practice assessments, goals, and interventions for clinical and community settings. Destined to be a core social work text, Affirmative Practice is a must-read for every practitioner, educator, and student. Special Features * Probes the psychological and social development of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender persons across the life cycle. * Traces the shift from conversionist practice to affirmative practice. * Evaluates therapy models and their usefulness for same-sex, bisexual, and transgender clients.

Publisher's Description: Focuses exclusively on sexual orientation and gender expression in relation to social work practice. The scenarios feature gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) individuals, couples, and families, and highlight GLBT issues in groups, organizations, communities, policy arenas, and research. The book also contains classroom exercises and suggested readings, making it a good resource for integrating GLBT content into the classroom

This pioneering study examines inequalities experienced by LGBT people in health care and considers the role of social work in addressing the inequity. The book is organized into three parts: the first provides a policy context in four countries, the second examines social work practice in tackling health inequalities, and the third considers research and pedagogic developments. The volume’s distinctive international approach features practice vignettes as well as key theoretical perspectives on the components of health inequalities, including social determinants of health, minority stress, ecological approaches, and human rights. With a preface from Gary Bailey, president of the International Federation of Social Workers, Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Trans Health Inequalities will be relevant to an interdisciplinary, international audience of social work educators, practitioners, and students.

From concerns over the bullying of LGBTQ youth and battles over sex education to the regulation of sexual activity and the affirmation of queer youth identity, sexuality saturates the school day. Rather than understand these conflicts as an interruption to the work of education, Jen Gilbert explores how sexuality comes to bear on and to enliven teaching and learning. Gilbert investigates the breakdowns, clashes, and controversies that flare up when sexuality enters spaces of schooling. Education must contain the volatility of sexuality, Gilbert argues, and yet, when education seeks to limit the reach of sexuality, it risks shutting learning down. Gilbert penetrates this paradox by turning to fiction, film, legal case studies, and personal experiences. What, she asks, can we learn about school from a study of sexuality? By examining the strange workings of sexuality in schools, Gilbert draws attention to the explosive but also compelling force of erotic life in teaching and learning. Ultimately, this book illustrates how the most intimate of our experiences can come to shape how we see and act in the world.

Over several decades, anti-oppressive practice and anti-discriminatory perspectives have become an integral part of social work. Responding to an urgent need for an up-to-date text that addresses recent developments, this book charts the impact of social changes and new literature shaping social work theory and practice with black and minority individuals, families and communities. It builds upon popular texts addressing anti-discriminatory frameworks but focuses specifically upon black perspectives in social work, taking into account current issues and concerns.Written specifically for a US and UK market, the book provides an excellent introductory text to social work with black and minority ethnic communities for students, lecturers, practice teachers/assessors who are engaged in examining anti-discriminatory practice frameworks and black perspectives in academic settings and practice learning. It will support curriculum-based learning through its focus on anti-discriminatory practice in a climate that appears less sympathetic to the multicultural nature of British society.

A leading African American intellectual, Eugene Kinckle Jones (1885-1954) was instrumental in professionalizing black social work in America. Jones used his position was executive secretary of the National Urban League to work with social reformers advocating on behalf of African Americans and against racial discrimination. He also led the Urban League's efforts at campaigning for equal hiring practices and the inclusion of black workers in labor unions, and promoted the importance of vocational training and social work.   Drawing on interviews with Jones's colleagues and associates, as well as recently opened family and Urban League archives, Felix L. Armfield blends biography with an in-depth discussion of the roles of black institutions and organizations. The result is a work that offers new details on the growth of African American communities, the evolution of African American life, and the role of black social workers in the years before the civil rights era.

The experiences of African Americans in urban communities are distinct from those of other ethnic groups, and to be truly understood require an in-depth appreciation of the interface between micro- and macro-level factors. This sweeping text, an outgrowth of a groundbreaking urban social work curriculum, focuses exclusively on the African American experience through field education, community engagement, and practice. It presents a framework for urban social work practice that encompasses a deep understanding of the challenges faced by this community. From a perspective based on empowerment, strengths, resilience, cultural competence, and multiculturalism, the book delivers proven strategies for social work practice with the urban African American population. It facilitates the development of creative thinking skills and the ability to "meet people where they are" skills that are often necessary for true transformation to take root. The book describes an overarching framework for understanding and practicing urban social work, including definitions and theories that have critical implications for working with people in such communities. It encompasses the contributions of African American pioneers regarding a response to such challenges as poverty, oppression, and racism. Focusing on the theory, practice, and policy aspects of urban social work, the book examines specific subsets of the urban African American population including children, adults, families, and older adults. It addresses the challenges of urban social work in relation to public health, health, and mental health; substance abuse; criminal justice; and violence prevention. Additionally, the book discusses how to navigate the urban built environment and the intersection between African Americans and other diverse groups. Chapters include outcome measures of effectiveness, case studies, review questions, suggested activities, and supplemental readings. KEY FEATURES: Fills a void in the literature on urban social work practice with African Americans Presents the outgrowth of a renowned urban curriculum, field education, research, community engagement, and practice Fulfills the requirements of the CSWE in the Educational Policy and Accreditation Standards regarding diversity Synthesizes micro, mezzo, and macro content in each chapter Provides contributions from African American pioneers in urban social work practice Accompanying Instructor's Manual and PowerPoint Slides

African American males have never fared as poorly as they do currently on a number of social indicators. They are less likely to complete high school than their white male and female or African American female peers, they are more likely to exhibit depressive symptoms, and they have fewer sanctioned coping strategies. Arguably, no other group in American society has been more maligned, regularly faced with tremendous odds that uniquely threaten their existence. When they do receive education, mental health, and physical health services, it is often in correctional settings. They are marginalized in public policies on secondary and higher education attainment, marriage and parental expectations, public welfare, health, housing, and community development. Yet they remain overlooked in health and social science research and are stereotyped in the popular media. Taking a step back from the traditionally myopic view of African American males as criminals and hustlers, this groundbreaking book provides a more nuanced and realistic portrait of their experiences in the world. Chapter authors, both established and emerging scholars of social problems relevant to African Americans, offer a comprehensive overview of the social and economic data on black males to date and the significant issues that affect them from adolescence to adulthood. Via in-depth qualitiative interviews as well as comprehensive surveys and data sets, their physical, mental, and spiritual health and emerging family roles are considered within both individual and communal contexts. Chapters cover health issues such as HIV and depression; fatherhood and family roles; suicide; violence; academic achievement; and incarceration. With original research and a special eye toward enhancing social work and social welfare intervention practice with this often overlooked subpopulation of American society, this volume will be of great interest to researchers interested in African American issues, students, practitioners, and policy makers.

In the black helping tradition, spirituality is the sense of the sacred and divine. It is a critical value deeply rooted in the African worldview and used by African Americans as a tool for survival. Provocative and well-written, this is the first book to draw a relationship between social work, spirituality, and the helping tradition among African Americans. Offering a wealth of historical detail and narrative, Elmer and Joanne Martin explore spirituality as a foundation for understanding people of African descent and as a skill to evoke self-help. This ground-breaking book raises compelling questions about the limitations and strengths of mainstream social work in issues of black spirituality and its role in strengthening the black community today.

Designated a Doody's Core Title "The authors have created a book that comfortably combines substantial research findings with readable, practical guidelines for assessment and intervention in the real-world practice of social work. This authoritatively researched, well-written volume will appeal to the multiple disciplines involved in assisting dementia patients and their families. It will also be useful for academic health care collections...Highly recommended."--Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries Understanding the role of dementia caregivers in different ethnic and cultural contexts is one of the most important skills that social workers should master. This comprehensive volume provides practical guidance for social work professionals who work with Black and Latino families living with the daily challenges of Alzheimer's disease and other forms of dementia. It is grounded in the interpretation and meaning of dementia in Black and Latino cultural heritages, and based on both a solid theoretical framework and the substantial research and clinical expertise of the authors. Detailed, step-by-step guidelines to assessment and intervention in ethnic-specific situations provide useful strategies that go beyond generic solutions. The text presents an overview of the epidemiology and clinical course of dementia with a focus on those forms of the disease most common to Blacks and Latinos. It addresses family care and role responsibilities in ethnic families and their theoretical, ethnic, and cultural foundations. Self-efficacy and cognitive behavioral problem-solving theories are discussed as modalities of choice. The text also considers financial and service delivery trends and use of technology, and provides detailed forms, documents, and dementia care resources. Numerous case studies will help readers to quickly put information into the context of real-world situations. Key Features: Provides concrete, targeted interventions for assisting ethnic family caregivers in confronting day-to-day issues Explains how and why self-efficacy and cognitive behavioral problem-solving theories are particularly useful for social work with ethnic family caregivers Offers detailed, step-by-step guidelines to assessment and intervention Includes problem-solving forms, documents, and additional dementia care resources Contains vivid supporting case studies in each chapter

Multicultural Perspectives in Social Work Practice with Families is in its third edition and continues to expand the depth and breadth with which culture may be understood and the impact of culture in working with families. Congress, Gonzalez, and their contributors have updated this text to include a focus on evidence-based practice, 10 additional chapters, revision of a valuable assessment tool, and a culturagram. This book clearly is an essential resource for social workers committed to culturally sensitive practice."--Journal of Teaching in Social Work Encompassing the most current issues faced by multicultural families across the lifespan and the social workers who serve them, this popular textbook contains ten new chapters and provides content that has been significantly expanded throughout. These new and reconceived chapters offer professors and social work graduate students a broader and more comprehensive take on the key issues that arise when treating families from diverse cultural backgrounds and current, evidence-based models for assessment and treatment. New chapters include: Evidence-based models of care for ethnically-diverse families Practice with Asian-American families Practice with Native American and indigenous families Practice with Hispanic families Practice with Arab families Practice with adolescents Practice with families when there is risk of suicide Practice with families dealing with substance use and abuse Practice with families around health issues Legal issues with immigrants Contributors to the text are leaders in the field of multicultural issues that encompass a wide range of racial and ethnic populations. Updated case studies, vignettes, and statistical data illustrate the book's content.

The United States has always been a land of immigrants and a destination for refugees. With the increase in immigration in the late 1980s--when the number of refugees entering the United States nearly doubled as well--the number of clients needing social work services rose dramatically. Social Work Practice with Immigrants and Refugees takes an ecological systems perspective on working with these two distinct groups, paying special attention to the relationship between individuals and their social environment. Focusing on the major immigrant groups who have come to the United States since the 1965 Immigration Act, the book contains chapters on immigrants and refugees from Asia, Latin America, Europe, and Africa. Pallassana R. Balgopal and contributors explore ideas, concepts, and skills that will help human service workers, social workers, helping professionals, and policymakers deepen their understanding of cultural attitudes toward newly arrived immigrants and refugees, thus strengthening their ability to better serve an ethnically diverse clientele.

The booming Latino population is changing the face of the United States, driving the need for innovative, culturally competent social and mental health services tailored to this diverse community. The first authoritative book of its kind, Social Work with Latinos outlines a solid frameworkfor understanding and helping Latino clients. Unlike any other textbook, this practical guide focuses on cultural assets, illustrating how helping professionals can draw on the strengths and unique characteristics of the community when designing programs and interventions. Beginning with a thorough demographic profile of Latinos in the United States today, Melvin Delgado introduces students to key issues that they must grasp as social workers if they are to provide effective interventions to increasingly heterogeneous group. He grounds the Latino experience within abroad social, economic, and political context, equipping students to appreciate and amplify their clients' personal and cultural strengths and values. One of the book's central elements is Delgado's clear six-stage guide to social work practice with Latinos, which draws on a variety of principles,strategies, and techniques to inform best practices. With its strong emphasis on critical thinking and evidence-based practice, and a vivid presentation of the multifaceted Latino community, this much-needed guide is an outstanding resource for students and professionals alike.

The deaf community in the West has endured radical changes in the past centuries. This work of history tracks the changes both in the education of and the social world of deaf people through the years. Topics include attitudes toward the deaf in Europe and America and the evolution of communication and language. Of particular interest is the way in which deafness has been increasingly humanized, rather than medicalized or pathologized, as it was in the past. Successful contributions to the deaf and non-deaf world by deaf individuals are also highlighted. Instructors considering this book for use in a course may request an examination copy here.

Language which develops 'against all the odds' is very precious. Words were not enough for Tom; it was signs that made sense of a world silenced by meningitis. Confidence came via joyful and positive steps to communication from babyhood; a brush with epilepsy, a cochlear implant in his teens and life as an independent young adult followed.

The need has never been more crucial for community health providers, programs, and organizations to have access to training in addressing the unique behavioral health challenges facing our veterans, active duty military, and their families. Handbook of Military Social Work is edited by renowned leaders in the field, with contributions from social work professionals drawing from their wealth of experience working with veterans, active duty military, and their families. Handbook of Military Social Work considers: Military culture and diversity Women in the military Posttraumatic stress disorder in veterans Traumatic brain injury in the military Suicide in the military Homelessness among veterans Cycles of deployment and family well-being Grief, loss, and bereavement in military families Interventions for military children and youth Offering thoughtful advice covering the spectrum of issues encountered by mental health professionals working with individuals and families, Handbook of Military Social Work will contribute to the improvement of efforts to help our military personnel, veterans, and their families deal with the challenges they face.

With the United States' involvement in numerous combat operations overseas, the need for civilian social workers with the clinical skills necessary to work with members of the military returning from combat, as well as their families, has never been more critical. In this practical and important book, each chapter is written by specialists in a particular area devoted to the care of service members and includes case material to demonstrate assessment and intervention approaches. The reader is introduced to the world of the military and the subsequent development of mental health services for returning men and women. Chapters look at special populations of service members with specific needs based directly on their experience in the military, discussing post-traumatic stress disorder, traumatic brain injury, sexual harassment and assault during their service, and the physiology of the war zone experience. The challenges faced by reintegrating service men and women are explored in detail and include family issues, suicide, and substance use disorders. A section on services available to returning service members looks at those offered by the Veterans Administration and at the use of animal-assisted interventions. The book concludes with a section devoted to unique concerns for the practitioner and explores ethical concerns they may face and their own needs as clinicians working with this population.

Publisher's Description: This book includes best practices and eclectic approaches that encourage social workers and other mental health professionals to better consider the needs of our military and their families. The text contains the most up-to-date subject matter on social work with military personnel and their families, including thorough descriptions of major conditions suffered by members of the warrior culture in the past and present. Relevant topics such as suicide, sexual assault, veteran issues, and Don t Ask, Don t Tell, Don t Pursue, are discussed. The content is accented with a glossary of commonly used military terms and acronyms.