Nursing: Evidence-Based Practice

A quick-reference guide for Nursing students.

Levels of Evidence / Suggested Resources

Searching for Info: Levels of Evidence - Video

Credit: Molly Montgomery, MLS, MS - ISU Library

Trip allow users to quickly and easily find high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. Users can search using PICO question format and results are broken down by level of evidence. Sources include Cochrane, National Guideline Clearinghouse, PubMed, and more.
Links may take you to publisher's pages with a pay-wall. Never pay for articles!!! Instead, try searching the title of the article in the 'Everything' search on the library's homepage to see if the full-text article is available through one of our databases. If not, you can request it through ILL.

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews - The Cochrane Library
While Daemen College does not have a subscription to Cochrane, its content is fully searchable within PubMed. All reviews published by Cochrane since September 2016 are freely available in PubMed Central repository twelve months after their initial publication. Simply add AND "The Cochrane database of systematic reviews"[Journal] to the end of your PubMed search and look for results that say Free PMC Article.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Provides search filters to limit results to systematic reviews/meta-analysis.

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
A rich collection of nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL and provides additional nursing and allied health research material including health care books, select conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheet and quick lesson disease overviews. The database provides broad content coverage including 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a free online resource that comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. By using this custom Daemen URL, article citations will include a link to search the Daemen catalog for full text, in addition to links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

These make up a large majority of the articles you'll find in research databases. Some of the key databases here at Daemen are listed below.

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
A rich collection of nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL and provides additional nursing and allied health research material including health care books, select conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheet and quick lesson disease overviews. The database provides broad content coverage including 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine.
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE with Full Text provides the authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences found on MEDLINE, plus the database provides full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, nearly 1,450 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE. And of those, 558 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search, Health Source or Biomedical Reference Collection.

AccessMedicine
Provides instant access to videos, self-assessment, and leading medical textbooks that facilitate decision-making at the point-of-care.

UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Note: All users MUST create an UpToDate account in order to access content.

UpToDate is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource that assists clinicians with point-of-care decisions. UpToDate covers 25 medical specialties with over 11,600 topic reviews, each of which covers multiple clinical questions. Additionally, UpToDate includes graphics, patient education, clinical calculators, and a drug database and drug interaction tool (through a partnership with Lexicomp® ).