Primary Legal Sources
Primary legal sources are the actual law in the form of constitutions, court cases, statutes, and administrative rules and regulations.
Legal Research Databases
- WestLaw EdgeAvailable only to Paralegal students with Westlaw login. Students without a Westlaw Edge loging should use Westlaw Campus Research.
- Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive database of resources for researching U.S. Law. It includes primary sources including case law, statutes and regulations at the federal and state levels as well as secondary sources (e.g. American Law Reports, American Jurisprudence) and over 800 law reviews.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowProvides full text access to: Legal Classics (treatises), Law Journal Library, U.S. Supreme Court Library, U.S. Federal Legislative History Library, Treaties and Agreements, U.S. Congressional Documents, Foreign & International Law Resources Database, and World Trials collection.
Legal Archives
- OyezOyez (pronounced OH-yay) is a multimedia archive devoted to making the Supreme Court of the United States accessible to everyone. It is the most complete and authoritative source for all of the Court’s audio since the installation of a recording system in October 1955. Oyez offers transcript-synchronized and searchable audio, plain-English case summaries, illustrated decision information, and full-text Supreme Court opinions (through Justia).
New York Statutes
These include the current version of New York statues, constitution, and court rules. Includes the current version of New York statutes, constitution, and court rules. If you have a citation, use 'S' to indicate section number. Ex: NY ABAND PROP S 402.
- New York Statutes & Court Rules (Westlaw Campus Research)View on Westlaw Edge (Westlaw account required)
United States Code
The United States Code is the codification by subject matter of the laws of the United States. It is divided by broad subjects into 53 titles and published by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the U.S. House of Representatives.
- United States Code Annotated (USCA) (Westlaw Campus Research)View on Westlaw Edge (Westlaw account required)