Statistical Sources

Resources for background about older adults and people with disabilities living in the U.S.

Quick links to statistics on life expectancy, health status, health risks, health care utilization, hospice care and mortality in the United States.

Provides national and international disability statistics, datasets, and disability research tools along with robust documentation on the scope and methodology of important disability surveys.

Provides national statistics on disability and employment and labor force characteristics.

This includes the report of the Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics. This contains key indicators of well-being including family and social environment, economic circumstances, health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education, and health.

The Children's Bureau analyzes and reports data on topics including adoption, foster care, and child abuse and neglect.

The Census Bureau collects data about American families for the nation, states and communities. Our statistics describe trends in household and family composition, and show the number of children, young adults and couples living in the United States.

The primary source for United States’ criminal justice statistics including information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operations of justice systems at all levels of government.

This site provides statistical information on juvenile offending, victimization of juveniles, and involvement of youth in the juvenile justice system.

The Department of Education’s gateway to statistics including The Condition, The Condition of Education, Digest of Education Statistics, High School Dropout and Completion Rates in the United States, Indicators of School Crime and Safety, and Projections of Education Statistics.

The EDGE program's publications includes custom indicators of social, economic, and housing conditions for school-age children and their parents. It also includes geographic locale indicators, school point locations, school district boundaries, and other types of data to support spatial analysis.

The United States Census Bureau provides tables and reports on educational attainment from the American Community Survey, Current Population Survey and other Census data sources.

Data and statistics are linked by topics which include aging, asthma, cancer, HIV/AIDS, and more.

The Institute produces a wide range of resources on topics pertaining to sexual and reproductive health.

The Nation’s principal health statistics agency, this site is a gateway to reports, surveys, and statistics, and data.

Statistics on this site include numbers on prevalence by specific mental disorder and age group, suicide rates, and figures on the costs involved in mental illness.

Statistical health profiles of racial and ethnic populations in the United States.

National and state data on alcohol, tobacco and drug abuse, and mental health.

An on-line tool designed to allow Homeless Continuums of Care to submit data to the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD).

The Homeless Alliance of Western New York is the lead agency for both the Continuum of Care (CoC) and the Homeless Management Information System (HMIS) in Buffalo, Niagara Falls, Erie, Niagara, Genesee, Wyoming and Orleans Counties. See the Local Stats and Resources page.

Key data sets published by the Office of Immigration Statistics.

Access to the latest immigration statistics, maps, and numbers of the United States and other countries.

This interactive tool uses U.S. Census data from the American Community Survey to generate tables of data on children of immigrants for the years 2006-20011 based on geography, nativity, citizenship, age, and other demographics.

Statistics and reports on federal immigration enforcement.

These links are a good place to start for essential information on poverty measures at the national, state, and local level, along with other fundamental measures relating to poverty in the United States.

State profiles, data tools, and more.

This page is a gateway to poverty data collected by the Census Bureau.

Data on USDA Nutrition Assistance programs such as SNAP, school meals, and WIC.

Statistics and data files on programs covered by the SSA: SSI, Medicare, Disability, as well as socioeconomic characteristics and demographics.